Frank Lampard


7 Football Clubs Managed by Their Ex-Players

Manager Frank Lampard of Derby County celebrates during the Sky Bet Championship match between Bristol City and Derby County at Ashton Gate on April 27, 2019 in Bristol, England.

The recent arrival of Mikel Arteta at Arsenal means that six of the 20 teams currently competing in the Premier League have managers who previously played for the club during their playing days. I was slightly surprised by just how many teams are managed by former players when researching this seven, with the numbers being similarly high in La Liga, Serie A, and the Bundesliga.