AC Milan

AC Milan was formed as Milan Football and Cricket Club in 1899 by Englishman Alfred Edwards and two years later the club won it's first title and quickly two more. Then came a 40-year drought before three Swedes, Gunnar Gren, Gunnar Nordahl and Nils Liedholm inspired four Scudetti in the 1950s. In 1979 Milan were relegated for financial issues but Silio Berlusconi bought the club in 1986 and started a new era. Fabio Capello delivered four titles in the early 1990s and Carlo Ancelotti won the Scudetto, Coppa Italia and Champions League. The Rossoneri again won the Champions League in 2007, getting revenge over Liverpool for their dramatic 2005 penalty shoot-out loss. Massimiliano Allegri won the title in 2011 but things have dropped off a little since.



Fans of Kaiserslautern celebrate after winning the match during the Second Bundesliga match between 1.FC Kaiserslautern and 1.FC Nuernberg at the Fritz-Walter-Stadium in Kaiserslautern on...

7 Biggest Football Club Declines this Decade

The unpredictability of sport is one of the reasons why it is so popular, and whilst the finances in football threaten to make it a bit of a closed shop at the highest level, this last decade proves that it is still possible for minnows to rise and for giants to fall.