After three long years, the fan-favourite Overlord anime is set to return this week, but when will season 4 episode 1 release for streaming?

Anime fans are used to long breaks between seasons, especially when a show is adapting an already-establish manga or light novel series.

However, after a certain amount of time, the community can start to worry about a potential cancellation or indefinite shelving of their favourite series.

It’s been over three years since the hit dark fantasy anime Overlord was last on our screens, but fans finally know what the future has in store.

On March 12th, a new preview trailer for Overlord season 4 premiered online that confirmed a July 2022 return, but what date and time will episode 1 release for online streaming?

Overlord season 4 release date, time and streaming for episode 1

On December 17th, 2021, the Kadokawa Anime YouTube channel shared the first preview trailer for Overlord season 4, announcing that the series would premiere its fourth instalment in 2022. Then, on March 12th, it was finally confirmed that season 4 of the Overlord anime will release in July 2022 as part of the Summer broadcasting slate.

It has since been revealed Overlord season 4 episode 1 will premiere on Tuesday, July 5th at 10 PM domestically in Japan.

Overlord season 4 episode 1 became available on Crunchyroll from 7 AM PT/10 AM ET/3 PM BST/4 PM CEST/10 PM PHT on Tuesday, July 5th.

If you are a new anime fan, Crunchyroll currently provides several subscription packages that will grant access to Overlord season 4 when it premieres online:

  • Fan Package: £6.50 a month, no ads but access is limited to one device at a time
  • Mega-Fan Package: £7.99 a month, no ads, streaming across four devices and offline viewing
  • Mega-Fan Package: £79.99 a year, no ads, streaming across four devices and offline viewing – a 16% discount compared to the monthly plan

Whilst fans around the world are now counting down to the upcoming release of Overlord season 4, the community is well and truly used to long breaks in between new content. When the third season of Overlord concluded back in October 2018, not many of us would have thought we would go two years without any news about the fourth season.

That being said, fans of Overlord were already used to long hiatus’ between broadcasts by this point, including a 26-month gap between seasons 1 and 2. The good news is that there should be plenty more Overlord content to look forward to; not only is the show extremely popular with fans around the world, but there is plenty of source material from the original light novel series.

An Overlord anime movie is also in the works

Alongside the announcement concerning season 4 in 2021, it was officially confirmed that Overlord would receive a feature movie.

The voice actors and production team are yet to be confirmed, but the main staff from the television series are expected to reprise their roles for the upcoming movie.

The Overlord movie has not received an initial release date, but it was confirmed that it would adapt the Holy Kingdom Arc from the series.

More information is expected to be shared following the conclusion of season 4 – which is scheduled to reach its final episode on September 20th.

Isekai Quartet season 3 also in the works

Whilst Overlord is about to return with season 4, its crossover series Isekai Quartet has also been renewed for a third season.

Isekai Quartet is arguably the best crossover series in the anime world, with characters from Overlord, KonoSuba, Re:Zero and Tanya the Evil all interacting brilliantly.

Additionally, an Isekai Quartet movie has also been announced, called ‘Isekai Quartet The Movie -Another World-‘ the film premiered in June, 2022.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Does Denny steal from Doc in Virgin River? Season 4 bank visit explained