When Bridgerton waltzed its way onto Netflix in December 2020, it became an instant hit, earning over 82 million viewers within its first 28 days alone.

It was no surprise, therefore, that the steamy period drama quickly earned a second season renewal and fans have been left anxiously waiting for the new episodes to arrive.

At long last, in March 2022, Bridgerton season 2 is finally due to drop but when is the exact release time of the new instalment and what can fans expect?

Bridgerton | Season 2 Official Trailer | Netflix

BridTV
8867
Bridgerton | Season 2 Official Trailer | Netflix
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/qYNCws-a6CQ/hqdefault.jpg
969601
969601
center
13872

Bridgerton season 1 recap

Season 1 of Bridgerton trotted onto our screens a whopping 15 months ago on December 25th, 2020.

Based on the novel series by Julia Quinn, the period drama tells the story of the Bridgerton family and its many siblings, with young Daphne making her first appearance as a debutante and earning many potential suitors when she is named Diamond of the Season.

However, despite many suitable matches who all bring wealth and land, Daphne’s head has been turned by the roguish and brooding Duke of Hastings, Simon Basset.

While Simon is initially against the idea of marrying Daphne, the pair eventually tie the knot and as season 1 ends, she gives birth to the couple’s first child.

Netflix

Elsewhere, Anthony Bridgerton has been serving as the head of the family since their father died but he has secretly been in a relationship with the opera singer Siena Rosso, although the pair split by the end of season 1, leaving him looking for a wife of his own.

And finally, season 1 featured the mystery of Lady Whistledown, an anonymous individual who writes letters unearthing gossip and secrets about ‘the ton’, the wealthiest people in society.

Eloise believed that she had uncovered Lady Whistledown’s identity in the form of Genevieve but in the final episode of season 1, it was revealed that Penelope had been the secretive gossip all along.

Netflix

Bridgerton season 2 release date and time

Season 2 of Bridgerton will be released on Friday, March 25th, at midnight Pacific Time in the US.

Like most Netflix releases, the new season will be released at the same time around the world, which for differing time zones translates to:

  • 12am PT in the US
  • 3am ET in the US
  • 7am GMT in the UK
  • 8am CET in Europe
  • 12:30pm IST in India
  • 6pm AEDT in Sydney, Australia

Fans may notice that the release time in some areas differs from usual, this is because daylight saving has recently ended in the US meaning that some time zones are temporarily out of sync.

While Bridgerton’s first season explored Daphne’s arrival on the debutante scene, the second outing is set to look at Anthony Bridgerton’s attempts at finding a wife of his own after his affair with Siena Rosso ended with the pair parting ways.

Netflix

How many episodes are in Bridgerton season 2?

Bridgerton’s second season will consist of eight episodes in total.

Veteran fans of the series will note that this is the same episode count that we saw in season 1.

Like most Netflix releases, all eight of the new episodes will be released in one go so fans will be able to binge-watch to their heart’s content.

Ahead of season 2’s arrival, the titles of the eight episodes were revealed:

  1. Capital R Rake
  2. Off to the Races
  3. A Bee in Your Bonnet
  4. Victory
  5. An Unthinkable Fate
  6. The Choice
  7. Harmony
  8. The Viscount Who Loved Me

And finally, beyond season 2, Bridgerton has also been renewed for seasons 3 and 4, meaning there’s plenty more of the steamy period drama on the way.

Netflix

Season 2 of Bridgerton will be available to stream on Netflix from March 25th, 2022.

In other news, SPOILERS: Do Nancy and Steve get together in Stranger Things season 4?