The mascot of the Georgia Bulldogs football team, is perhaps, unsurprisingly, a bulldog – but just how old is the current mascot Uga X – also known as Que?

The long wait for National Championship success for the Georgia Bulldogs is finally over.

A strong fourth quarter performance against the Alabama Crimson Tide handed them a first National Championship since 1981, in a 33-18 win.

Quarterback Stetson Bennett threw two fourth quarter touchdowns to secure the title for Georgia.

One fan who was in attendance in Indianapolis was Uga the dog.

Just the latest in a line of bulldogs to be the Georgia Bulldogs mascot, Uga.

But just how old is the Georgia Bulldogs mascot, Uga X – and how long have bulldogs been the mascot for the team?

Photo by Rich von Biberstein/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

How old is the Georgia Bulldogs mascot?

Ever since 1956, the Georgia Bulldogs have had a pure white English bulldog as its official mascot.

The dogs are formally known as Uga, and each is a relation of the previous holder of the role.

Each dog also has a nickname, which is used to differentiate between them.

The current dog in post is Uga X – the 10th bulldog to be Bulldogs mascot.

Photo by Carmen Mandato/Getty Images

Known as ‘Que’ he took up the role in 2015 upon the retirement of his grandfather Uga IX – ‘Russ.’

His current age is eight years old.

Que is owned, as every Uga has been, by the Seiler family in Georgia.

What were the other Ugas called?

Below is a list of the Uga Georgia Bulldog mascots – and their time in the role.

Not every relationship is father/son, with half-brothers and grandfathers also passing the responsibility on.

  • Uga I – “Hood’s Ole Dan” – 1956 – 1966
  • Uga II – “Ole Dan’s Uga” – 1966 -1972
  • Uga III – “Seiler’s Uga Three” – 1972-1980
  • Uga IV – “Seiler’s Uga Four” – 1981-1989
  • Uga V – “Uga IV’s Magillicuddy II” – 1990-1999

American Underdog | Official Trailer

American Underdog | Official Trailer
  • Uga VI – “Uga’s V’s Whatchagot Loran” – 1999-2008
  • Uga VII – “Loran’s Best” – 2008-2009
  • Uga VIII – “Big Bad Bruce” – 2010-2011
  • Uga IX – “Russ” – 2012-2015
  • Uga X – “Que” – 2015 – present

Before Que, the last Georgia Bulldogs mascot to see the team win the National Championship was ‘Seiler’s Uga Three’, who died a few weeks after retiring in 1981.

Photo by Rich von Biberstein/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

In other news, What does Beyonce say about Birkin bags in Summer Renaissance?