Another day, another issue with Snapchat… It seems as though Snapchatters are confused as some accounts appear to no longer exist.
Many are struggling to log in to personal accounts and access their important memories and more.
Here we explore why Snapchat is deleting accounts and how to possibly fix the issue.
Why is Snapchat deleting accounts?
Some Snapchatters have been experiencing issues on the multimedia instant messaging app, with many stating their accounts appear to have been deleted.
With Snapchat memories storing tons of important photographs on people’s devices, users are worried that they could have lost the meaningful files forever.
@snapchatsupport took to Twitter on 10 December to confirm that they are aware of the problem and are looking into it.
Although nothing has been confirmed as to why this is happening on the platform, Snapchat Support now claims to have resolved the issue.
Many users do not agree and are still supposedly experiencing difficulties.
Ways to possibly fix the issue
While Snapchat is yet to provide direct answers showing how to prevent the deletion problem from occurring, we have pieced together a few ways that could possibly fix the issue.
First, select ‘I can’t access my account’, then click ‘I see an error message when I log in’ and finally, select ‘yes’ to submit a support ticket.
Aside from direct help from Snapchat Support, you can also try to resolve the issue via other social media platforms.
Some users state that they contacted an Instagram profile named @account_account_recovery and they were eventually enabled Snapchat access again.
Other reasons your account could be deleted
What if Snapchat didn’t randomly delete your account for no reason? Here are some explanations behind the purposeful deletion of Snapchat accounts.
Any violation of the terms of service that users agree to when signing up for Snapchat will terminate the account.
The following laws stipulate the deletion of certain types of accounts, according to Nerds Chalk.
If your account appears to be fake, it may be deleted.
Alternatively, if you are using an unauthorised third-party app or tweak to access Snapchat or Snapchat services, your profile may be deleted.
Furthermore, if you have not verified your email and phone number, your account is at risk.