The annual prize-giving event will take place on Sunday night at Media City in Salford, but what do you need to do to vote for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2021? Who are the contenders for the 2021 title?

Sport has played an integral role in getting everyone through the last year of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Whether it be England making it to the final of the European Championships, the Tokyo Olympics or Emma Raducanu’s stunning triumph in New York, sport has been there.

On Sunday night, the BBC will crown the 2021 winner of Sports Personality of the Year.

Who are the contenders for the award in 2021, and how can you vote for Sports Personality of the Year 2021?

Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

The Only Way Is Essex | Essexmas Trailer

Who are the contenders?

This year, there are six names on the list for Sports Personality of the Year.

  • Emma Raducanu – Tennis
  • Tom Daley – Diving
  • Tyson Fury – Boxing
  • Raheem Sterling – Football
  • Adam Peaty – Swimming
  • Dame Sarah Storey – Cycling

Raducanu won just her second ever Grand Slam Tennis tournament in the US Open in September, two months after her Wimbledon debut.

Daley finally claimed that elusive Olympic Gold medal in Tokyo with diving partner Matty Lee in the 10m platform.

Sterling is nominated after his three goals helped England to the final of Euro 2020 and winning the Premier League with Manchester City for a third time in four years.

Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/Getty Images

Peaty defended his breaststroke Olympic Gold in Tokyo, also picking up Gold in the 4x100m mixed medley relay.

He collected Silver in the 4x100m medley.

Storey hauled two Golds in Tokyo to become the most successful British Paralympian of all time.

Photo by Karl Bridgeman/Getty Images for The National Lottery

She has never been defeated in a Paralympic Cycling event, taking 12 Golds from 12 events.

In total, she has 12 Cycling and 16 Swimming Paralympic medals.

Photo by Friedemann Vogel/Getty Images

The final contender

Also on the list is Tyson Fury – the current WBC World Heavyweight champion.

Fury is on the list for the second time in successive years, but refuses to be a part of the ceremony.

He believes he does not need the award to justify who he is, and has previously instructed lawyers to prevent the BBC from shortlisting him.

Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

Current odds have Raducanu as favourite at the time of writing – any female winner would be the first since Zara Phillips in 2006.

How to vote for Sports Personality of the Year

The voting process does not open until Sunday’s live show.

Hosts Gary Linker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott will interview each of the contenders before voting can open.

Viewers will be able to vote either through their phone or online via BBC Sport.

Numbers will be released when voting opens.

As for online voting, you will need a registered BBC account – with votes limited to one per account.

The show will be on BBC 1, starting at 18:45pm and scheduled to run until 21:00pm.

Traditionally, Sports Personality of the Year is the last award to be presented.

Defending winner Sir Lewis Hamilton was not shortlisted after losing out to Max Verstappen in the F1 World Championship.

Verstappen is up the for World Sports Star award.

Photo by Antonin Vincent – Pool/Getty Images

In other news, Chainsaw Man Part 2 release date set for Summer 2022, says creator