After the great Marvel drought of 2020, this year has more than made up for it with an almost endless stream of new films and TV series for MCU fans to delve into.

The newest arrival on the small screen is the Hawkeye series which arrived on the Disney+ streaming service on November 24th.

However, just two episodes of the series were released on launch day which has left fans asking just how many episodes Hawkeye will have in total.

Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye | Official Trailer | Disney+

Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye | Official Trailer | Disney+

Hawkeye: Release date and plot

Hawkeye arrived on Disney+ on November 24th, 2021, just in time for the holiday season.

Following on from the events of Avengers: Endgame and ‘the blip’, Hawkeye continues the story of Clint Barton (Jeremy Renner) as he attempts to get back to his family in time for Christmas.

However, the seemingly simple mission is complicated when a dangerous threat from his shady past catches up with him.

Clint is forced to team up with Kate Bishop (Hailee Steinfeld), a young archer with aspirations of becoming the next Hawkeye, as they work together to unravel a dangerous criminal conspiracy.

Marvel Studios | Disney+

How many episodes are in Hawkeye?

Hawkeye will consist of six episodes in total.

At six episodes in length, Hawkeye will mirror both Loki and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier series, which also had six instalments each.

The runtime of each Hawkeye episode is expected to follow a similar pattern to the previous shows, meaning we can expect roughly 45-60 minutes per episode.

Two episodes of Hawkeye were released on launch day while one new episode will be following each week thereafter.

As a result, the sixth and final episode will be arriving on Disney+ on December 22nd, just in time for Christmas.

Photo by Gotham/GC Images

Who’s in the cast?

Jeremy Renner reprises his long-held role of Clint Barton and will be joined in the series by a number of new and familiar faces.

Chief among them being Hailee Steinfeld who will be making her debut as the archer, Kate Bishop.

Also appearing in the Hawkeye series are:

  • Vera Farmiga as Eleanor Bishop – Kate’s mother.
  • Tony Dalton as Jack Duquesne – Barton’s early mentor and Kate’s soon-to-be stepfather.
  • Brian d’Arcy James as Derek Bishop – Kate’s father.
  • Alaqua Cox as Maya Lopez / Echo – A deaf Native American who can perfectly copy another’s movements, set to get her own spin-off series.
  • Zahn McClarnon as William Lopez – Maya’s father.
  • Fra Fee as Kazi
  • Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova

On top of that, the Hawkeye series is set to see Ben Sakamoto, Ava Russo and Cade Woodward play Clint’s children while a golden retriever named Jolt will star as Lucky the Pizza Dog.

Marvel Studios | Disney+

Hawkeye is available to stream now on Disney+ after premiering on November 24th, 2021.

In other news, What are the monsters in Hellbound? Creatures' origin explored