The highly anticipated anime ‘Sakugan’ is set to premiere this week, but what time will episode 1 release online and where should fans tune in?

The vast majority of anime series are based on either a previously established manga series or a collection of light novels.

However, the upcoming series ‘Sakugan’ is rather different, being an adaptation of a novel from Nekotaro Inui called Sakugan Labyrinth Marker, which was originally submitted to the 2018 Project Anima.

The series is animated by Satelight Production Company, which has previously worked on such titles as Fairy Tail, Hellsing Ultimate, White Album, WorldEnd and Log Horizon.

However, fans around the world only want to know one thing: how and when can they watch Sakugan online?

SAKUGAN | OFFICIAL TRAILER 2

BridTV
3445
SAKUGAN | OFFICIAL TRAILER 2
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/uUtlZqTTzOQ/hqdefault.jpg
825382
825382
center
13872

What is the Sakugan anime about?

Sakugan is an upcoming science fiction anime series that is set in a future where humans have been pushed into living in an underground world called The Labyrinth.

Humanity is now split into various distinctive colonies, some with gold and silver resources whilst are forced to live in extreme conditions.

In the Pinyin Colony, a nine-year-old girl called Memempu works with her father, Gaganbar, as a ‘worker’, who control various robots to dig valuable ore from The Labyrinth.

Memempu is desperate to find out what happened to her mother, who went missing several years prior and begs her dad to become a ‘marker’ – someone who marks out the underground system of caves and tunnels.

“As a “marker,” Gaganbar holds the most dangerous yet attractive profession. One step outside the colony is already deemed to be a dangerous area and meeting a huge mysterious creature that loiters the cave, one’s chance of living will be cut down to five percent.” – Synopsis, via MAL.

The map of The Labyrinth that the father-daughter pair possess is extremely valuable, but will our two protagonists trade it in for the good of the colony, or use it to have their own adventures?

Sakugan: Release date and time

The Sakugan anime television series will air on Japanese networks from 11.30 PM JST on Thursday, October 7th.

Sakugan will be simulcast through the Crunchyroll streaming service, where the series will e available for both free and paying subscribers. Crunchyroll Premium costs just £7.99 a month and grants access to new episodes one week earlier than free users:

  • Pacific Time: 7.30 AM PDT
  • Eastern Time: 10.30 AM EDT
  • British Time: 3.30 PM BST
  • European Time: 4.30 PM CEST
  • Philippine Time: 10.30 PM PHT
  • Australia Time: 11.30 PM ACDT

This article will be updated as soon as Crunchyroll reveal an official simulcast time.

How many episodes are in season 1?

At the time of writing, the number of episodes in Sakugan season 1 has not been officially confirmed.

However, reports are circulating online that the broadcast for season 1 will be split over multiple cours (three-month programming slates).

Whist fans should note that this has not been shared by any official sources, two-cour broadcasts are becoming more common in the anime industry, especially following the disruption to production caused by the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

If this report is true, Sakugan would either be continuously simulcast from October through to March 2022 or would take a break for the Winter slate and return in April 2022 on the Spring slate.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, How many episodes are in True Story? Netflix release schedule explored