The hit anime ‘My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom’ concludes its second broadcast today, but will the series return for season 3?

The Summer anime slate was filled to the brim with a variety of new and fresh anime to enjoy.

However, some of the slates biggest draws have been the returning series, notably My Hero Academia, Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid, Reincarnated as a Slime and My Next Life as a Villainess.

The latter series, My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom, reaches its second season finale this week, but has Silver Link animation studios already renewed the show for season 3?

My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! X | OFFICIAL TRAILER

BridTV
3378
My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! X | OFFICIAL TRAILER
822787
822787
center
13872

Stream the finale tonight on Crunchyroll…

The season 2 finale of My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom (episode 24 in the series) will release through the Crunchyroll streaming platform at 7.15 PM BST on Friday, September 17th.

  • Pacific Time: 11.15 AM PDT
  • Eastern Time: 1.15 PM EDT
  • British Time: 7.15 PM BS
  • European Time: 8.15 PM CEST
  • Philippine Time: 2.15 AM PHT
  • Australia Time: 3.45 AM ACST

Season 2 episode 12 will air for free users in selected territories at the described times the following week.

Has My Next Life as a Villainess been renewed for season 3?

At the time of writing, My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom has not been officially renewed for season 3.

However, it has been confirmed that the series will be continued by an anime movie, release TBA.

“Thanks to everyone’s support, the movie version has been decided! Thank you very much. The day will come when you can see Catalinas on the screen! I’m really looking forward to it from now on.” – Satoru Yamaguchi, via franchise website.

Whilst there may not any official word on My Next Life as a Villainess’ future, the signs are all there for the anime series to continue with a third adventure.

The reason for our optimistic outlook is the fact that the anime has not yet adapted the entirety of the light novel series that is based upon, as well as the second season maintaining an above-average rating with fans.

Per reports online, the second season finale will correspond to the sixth volume in the series. The good news for fans is that, at the time of writing, 11 volumes from the light novel series have been published in Japanese, meaning there should be enough source material for at least one, if not two more anime seasons.

Unfortunately, Crunchyroll does not release their official viewership’s statistics for simulcast titles, making it difficult to estimate any series popularity.

However, season 2 has also maintained the franchise’s above-average scoring on various user-based feedback websites, including a solid 7.44/10 rating on MyAnimeList.

“Amazing anime. Loved it. This is the first reversed harem I love. Some characters were kind of bland but others I absolutely loved. The plot seems to be growing stronger as each episode passes…Some episodes were a bit boring others were some of my favorites of all the anime I’ve watched (which is a lot).” – User Sunset6825, via MyAnimeList.

When could My Next Life as a Villainess season 3 release?

If My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom is indeed renewed for a third season as expected, when could fans see Caterina and company return to our screens?

The first season was announced in October 2018 and premiered in July 2019. Similarly, the sequel season was revealed in January 2021 and made its return later in July of the same year.

The good news from a fan perspective is that there is enough source material available from the light novel series to start production on season 3 almost immediately.

Assuming that season 3 of My Next Life as a Villainess would experience a similar production schedule to the two previous instalments, fans could potentially see the anime series resume in July 2022 on the Summer broadcasting slate.

However, the announcement that the next project will be a villainous anime movie, this will push the potential premiere of season 3 into late-2022 or more likely, 2023.

This article will be updated as soon as more information is officially shared from either the production team or distribution partners.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Zombie Land Saga feature movie announced for hit anime franchise