What time will the finale of Girlfriend, Girlfriend release on Crunchyroll and what do we know so far about the anime series’ future with season 2?

The Summer anime slate is almost over and series from around the world are entering the home straight for their respective broadcasts.

One of the latest anime to reach the seasonal climax is Girlfriend, Girlfriend; the harem comedy romance series from Tezuka Productions.

However, as one door closes, another opens: what does the future hold for Girlfriend Girlfriend and will fans get a second season?

Girlfriend, Girlfriend | OFFICIAL TRAILER

BridTV
2814
Girlfriend, Girlfriend | OFFICIAL TRAILER
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/1foV8Fh0WRc/hqdefault.jpg
809906
809906
center
13872

When will the finale release online?

The season 1 finale of Girlfriend Girlfriend, episode number 12 in the series, will release through the Crunchyroll streaming service at 8 PM BST on Friday, September 17th.

Episode 12 will become available to stream online at the following international times, before arriving for free users at the same times next week.

  • Pacific Time: 12 PM PDT
  • Eastern Time: 3 PM EDT
  • British Time: 8 PM BST
  • European Time: 9 PM CEST
  • Philippine Time: 3 AM PHT
  • Australia Time: 4.30 AM ACST

Has Girlfriend, Girlfriend been renewed for season 2?

At the time of writing, Girlfriend Girlfriend season 2 has not been officially announced by Tezuka Productions, but fans should be confident that the anime will return for more romance.

Anime renewals typically depend on two factors aligning, the availability of source material from a manga or light novel series and that series’ popularity with viewers.

On the one hand, the Girlfriend Girlfriend manga series is still ongoing and has published a total of 73 chapters, with its eighth volume set to release in Japan on October 15th, 2021.

As noted by Monsters and Critics, the season 1 finale is expected to adapt up until around volume 4 chapter 35 in the manga, meaning there should soon be enough source material to produce a second anime season.

The only potential caveat in Girlfriend Girlfriend renewal is the series’ popularity with fans. Unfortunately, the anime hasn’t experienced the widespread success that many fans were expecting – only scoring a 6.6/10 on IMDB and 6.46/10 on MyAnimeList.

One user on MyAnimeList wrote that Girlfriend Girlfriend is an “absolutely horrible anime, top notch cringe fest”, whilst another stated that “this anime is a sole reminder to not take harem [series] seriously.”

“I don’t know why it’s rated relatively low in MAL, but from the other review, it seems like people are missing the genre. This is not a realistic drama, don’t read between the lines and take it too seriously. The story starts off with a bang, with an over the top plot that’s ridiculous in all the right ways.” – User Invalleria, via MyAnimeList.

Time will tell whether the generally underwhelming response to season 1 will put a halt to production on a sequel love story, or if the domestic success in Japan will warrant a second season.

When could Girlfriend, Girlfriend season 2 release?

As Girlfriend Girlfriend has not yet been officially renewed for season 2, Tezuka Productions have not revealed a targeted release date for season 2. However, fans should expect season 2 to experience a relatively quick turnaround, thanks to the availability of source material from the manga.

As previously explained, the manga series has now published a total of 73 chapters and season 1 adapted roughly 35 of those. Considering the rate that chapters and volumes are currently being produced, we expect there to be enough source material available for season 2 by February 2022.

The anime adaptation was announced in November 2020 and premiered in July 2021, Assuming that season 2 would experience a similar production schedule and start as soon as possible, we could see the series return to our screens as soon as June 2022 on the Summer broadcasting slate.

Finished Girlfriend Girlfriend and need another anime to watch? HITC recommends Rent-A-Girlfriend, The Quintessential Quintuplets, Aho-Girl, Osamake and Masamune-kun’s Revenge.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, How Many Episodes in AHS Double Feature? Season 10 Finale Date Set