After the great Marvel drought of 2020, this year has more than made up for it with an almost endless stream of new films and TV series for MCU fans to delve into.

The next big arrival on the small screen is the upcoming Hawkeye series which has just received its first trailer following months of teases and speculation as filming has taken place.

But with the trailer now released, fans have quickly turned to the series itself, with many fans asking just how many episodes Hawkeye will consist of in total.

Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye | Official Trailer | Disney+

Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye | Official Trailer | Disney+

Hawkeye: Release date and plot

Hawkeye will be coming to Disney+ on November 24th, 2021, just in time for the holiday season.

Few details have been unveiled so far but the highly-anticipated series will see Hawkeye (aka Clint Barton) team up with another well-known archer from the Marvel comics, Kate Bishop.

Set following the events of Avengers: Endgame and the blip, the Hawkeye series follows Barton as his violent past as the vigilante Ronin threatens to catch up with him.

Marvel Studios | Disney+

How many episodes are in Hawkeye?

Hawkeye will consist of six episodes in total.

The episode total comes courtesy of TV Guide Magazine’s preview of Hawkeye which confirms the number of chapters we can expect to see.

At six episodes in length, Hawkeye is set to mirror both Loki and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier series, which also had six instalments each, while WandaVision and What If…? differ in having nine episodes.

The runtime of each Hawkeye episode has not been announced but if it follows the same pattern as the previous series, we can expect roughly between 40-50 minutes per episode.

As with all of Marvel’s Disney+ shows, one new episode is expected to air weekly so the series will likely run from November 24th until the finale on December 29th, just after Christmas.

Photo by Gotham/GC Images

Who’s in the cast?

Jeremy Renner reprises his long-held role of Clint Barton and will be joined in the series by a number of new and familiar faces.

Chief among them being Hailee Steinfeld who will be making her debut as the archer, Kate Bishop.

Also appearing in the Hawkeye series are:

  • Vera Farmiga as Eleanor Bishop – Kate’s mother.
  • Fra Fee as Kazi
  • Tony Dalton as Jack Duquesne – Barton’s early mentor
  • Alaqua Cox as Maya Lopez / Echo – A deaf Native American who can perfectly copy another’s movements, set to get her own spin-off series.
  • Zahn McClarnon as William Lopez – Maya’s father
  • Brian d’Arcy James
  • Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova

On top of that, the Hawkeye series is set to see Ben Sakamoto, Ava Russo and Cade Woodward play Clint’s children while a golden retriever named Jolt will star as Lucky the Pizza Dog.

Marvel Studios | Disney+

Hawkeye will be available to stream on Disney+ from November 24th, 2021.

In other news, Vigil episode 5 air date: How many episodes are left?