Netflix is set to launch its latest Korean title, D.P., but what is the new drama series about, when will it release on the streaming platform and who are the cast?

From Vincenzo and Hospital Playlist to Law School and Move to Heaven, it’s already been a ground-breaking year for Korean dramas on Netflix.

This week, the streaming platform is set to add another original title to its already vast catalogue of Korean content with the release of D.P.

Adapting the hit Webtoon series, D.P. Dog Day, the live-action project is a special limited that has been specifically produced for Netflix, but what is D.P. and when can fans tune in?

D.P. | Official Trailer | Netflix

D.P. | Official Trailer | Netflix

What is D.P. about?

D.P. is an upcoming Korean drama series that tells focuses on a D.P. team, i.e. ‘Deserter Pursuit, who find and arrest citizens who have deserted from their military service.

Private Ahn Joon-Ho is a tenacious young solider with excellent observation skills. One day, Sergeant Park Beom-Goo transfers him to the D.P. team where he is joined by Corporal Han Ho-Yeol and First Lieutenant Im Ji-Seob.

However, Joon-Ho’s new role “reveals the painful reality endured by each enlistee” as his conscience is left to debate the right or wrong thing when soldiers feel that they have no choice but to leave.

Speaking on the series, director Han Jun-Hee said that he wanted to create a “humanistic drama” that people could relate to, revealing an aspect of military enlistment rarely seen on the small screen.

“Young men in their early 20s all go serve in the military and I think people can really resonate with the story and put themselves in the shoes of the characters.” – Han Jun-Hee, via NME.

D.P. Netflix release date and time

  • D.P. season 1 will release worldwide via the Netflix streaming platform at 12 AM PDT on Friday, August 27th.

The first season of D.P. will consist of six episodes, each with a runtime of around 50 minutes, which will all launch on August 27th.

The new K-drama is expected to release at the following times for international audiences:

  • Pacific Time: 12 AM PDT
  • Central Time: 2 AM CDT
  • Eastern Time: 3 AM EDT
  • British Time: 8 AM BST
  • European Time: 9 AM CEST
  • India Time: 12: 30 PM IST
  • Philippine Time: 3 PM PHT
  • Korea Time: 4 PM KST
  • Australia Time: 4: 30 PM ACST

Who are the cast?

The four main cast members for D.P. season 1 are Jung Hae-In (Private Ahn Joon-Ho), Koo Kyo-Hwan (Han Ho-Yeol), Kim Sung-Kyun (Park Beom-Goo) and Son Seok-Koo as Im Ji-Seob.

The actor taking the leading role in D.P. is Jung Hae-In, a South Korean actor from Seoul who fans may recognise from The Youth (2014), The Three Musketeers (2014), Prison Playbook (2017) and Start-Up (2019).

You can follow the 33-year-old actor on Instagram @holyhaein before he stars in the upcoming drama ‘Snowdrop’ alongside Blackpink’s Jisoo.

Other cast members include:

  • Lee Jun-Young as Jung Hyun-Min
  • Hong Kyung as Ryu Yi Kang
  • Jo Hyun-Chul as Cho Seok-Bong
  • Shin Seung-Ho as Hwang Jang-Soo
  • Kim Bum-Soo as an unknown character
  • Park Hyung-Jun as an unknown character
  • Kim Dong-Young as an unknown character
  • Go Hyung-Po as an unknown character

This article will be updated if any of the described information is officially altered.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Super Crooks comic: Netflix anime adapts the hit series from Mark Millar