It’s almost time for the Indian anthology series ‘Navarasa’ to launch on Netflix, but when will the drama release for international fans?

It’s a big week for fans who like to stream the latest hit movies and television series.

Whilst The Suicide Squad dominates HBO Max and most of our Twitter timeline, Netflix are also set to launch multiple titles that shouldn’t be overlooked either.

These include the animated movie ‘Vivo’, French thriller ‘The Swarm’ and the return of the hit Mexican drama ‘Control Z’.

However, one series with particularly a lot of attention is ‘Navarasa’, an Indian anthology series with an all-star cast that centres around different rasa; but what time will the series release and what are these rasa-based episodes about?

Navarasa | Official Trailer | Mani Ratnam, Jayendra | Netflix India

BridTV
3766
Navarasa | Official Trailer | Mani Ratnam, Jayendra | Netflix India
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Go6O1wX8H-c/hqdefault.jpg
834358
834358
center
13872

Navarasa: Release date and time

  • At the time of writing, Navarasa season 1 is set to release worldwide via the Netflix streaming platform at 12: 30 PM IST on Friday, August 6th.

The entire first season will be made available at the following international times:

  • Pacific Time – 12 AM PDT
  • Central Time – 2 AM CDT
  • Eastern Time – 3 AM EDT
  • British Time – 8 AM BST
  • European Time – 9 AM CEST
  • India Time – 12:30 PM IST
  • Philippine Time – 3 PM PHT
  • Australia Time – 4: 30 PM ACST

This time is based on Netflix’s typical release window, 12 AM Pacific Time in accordance with their HQ in San Francisco.

A quick episode guide to Navarasa…

Navarasa season 1 will consist of nine episodes that each represent a different emotion or rasa; the aesthetic flavour of an artist’s performance that invokes an emotional response in an audience.

Each episode will centre on one of the rasa: fear, anger, compassion, romance, valour, laughter, wonder, peace and disgust.

“As a filmmaker, being able to tell your story to a diverse audience, alongside three respected directors who believe in your story as much as you do, is an incredible opportunity. This film explores the dark, often agonising side of human relationships, tabling thoughts many have but are afraid to vocalise.” – Vignesh Shivan, via PTI RDS.  

The titles and specific rasa have also been revealed:

  1. “Inmai” – Bhayaanaka, ‘Fear’
  2. “Roudhram” – Raudra, ‘Anger’
  3. “Edhiri” – Karuna, ‘Compassion’
  4. “Guitar Kambi Mele Nindru” – Shringaara, ‘Romance’
  5. “Thunintha Pin” – Veera, ‘Valour’
  6. “Summer of ’92” – Haasya, ‘Laughter’
  7. “Project Agni” – Adbhutha, ‘Wonder’
  8. “Peace” – Shaantha, ‘Peace’
  9. “Payasam” – Bibhatsa, ‘Disgust’

“The idea of Navarasa was a spark when we discussed it and the industry has come together to make it glow, give it soul and make it count for its people. We are happy that Netflix has come forward to take this confluence of emotion, talent, people and the cause to the world.” – Joint statement from producers, via PTI RDS.

The second big-budget Tamil project…

The launch of Navarasa marks an important moment in the relationship between the Indian movie industry and Netflix, with the title being the second big-budget project of the year.

The other was the epic gangster movie ‘Jagame Thandhiram’, that released on the streaming platform back in mid-June.

Navarasa was initially slated to premiere in May, but Netflix delayed the launch due to the rise of covid cases in Tamil Nadu, prioritising the release of Jagame Thandhiram which had itself experienced covid-related delays.

Hopefully, the streaming giant can continue to produce these types of high-budget series alongside the giants of Indian cinema, bringing fans more quality entertainment than ever before.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Demon Slayer season 2 episode 6: Release time and preview revealed