The upcoming chapter of the One Piece manga series, chapter 1020, has been delayed, but has a new release date and preview been revealed?

Out of all the anime and manga fandoms out there, the One Piece community are probably the most loyal and dedicated to the series.

Every week, both the original manga and television adaptations trend worldwide on social media.

However, with the news that OP chapter 1020 has been delayed, many fans are curious as to why the latest instalment was postponed and when it will now launch online.

One Piece chapter 1020: Release date and time

  • At the time of writing, One Piece chapter 1020 is scheduled to release at 5 PM BST on Sunday, August 1st.

The new chapter will be made available at the following times around the world:

  • Pacific Time: 9 AM PDT on Sunday, August 1st
  • Central Time: 11 AM CDT on Sunday, August 1st
  • Eastern Time: 12 PM EDT on Sunday, August 1st
  • British Time: 5 PM BST on Sunday, August 1st
  • European Time: 6 PM CEST on Sunday, August 1st
  • India Time: 9: 30 PM IST on Sunday, August 1st
  • Philippine Time: 12 AM PHT on Monday, August 2nd
  • Japan Time: 1 AM on Monday, August 2nd
  • Australia Time: 1: 30 AM on Monday, August 2nd

This article will be updated if there are any official alterations to described information.

Why was chapter 1020 delayed?

The upcoming chapter of One Piece is delayed because the Weekly Shonen Jump magazine is taking a break for the Tokyo Olympic Games.

Users are stating that the entire WSJ catalogue is on a break this week, but is due to resume regular releases afterwards.

Brief spoilers leaked online…

The brief preview spoilers from the raw scans have been leaked online and the upcoming chapter is titled ‘Robin vs Black Maria’.

The cover features Denjiro (as Kyoushirou) sleeping with a samurai Mink, dreaming about eating a temura, but eating a wig instead as he sleeps.

  • Yamato is the one using ‘Ooguchi no Makami’.
  • Robin gets confused at various illusions, revealed to be the subordinates of Black Maria.
  • Black Maria’s weapon has eaten a ‘smile’ and is referred to as ‘Wanyudo’.
  • Black Maria laughs at Sanji crying for help, but Robin explains how no one understands and that he deserves to be called The Wings of the Pirate King.
  • Luffy regains consciousness and meets with Momonosuke, but Caribou is watching from afar.
  • Luffy says that Momonosuke must transform into a dragon and fly him back to the top of Onigashima.

You can read a more detailed breakdown of the spoilers here.

Official Manga Trailer | One Piece: Ace’s Story | VIZ

BridTV
2939
Official Manga Trailer | One Piece: Ace’s Story | VIZ
813052
813052
center
13872

Is there a new anime episode this week?

Yes, according to the schedule websites for One Piece, episode 985 will release at 3 AM BST and at the following times around the world:

  • Pacific Time: 7 PM PDT on Saturday, July 31st
  • Central Time: 9 PM CDT on Saturday, July 31st
  • Eastern Time: 10 PM EDT on Saturday, July 31st
  • British Time: 3 AM BST on Sunday, August 1st
  • European Time: 4 AM CEST on Sunday, August 1st
  • India Time: 7: 30 AM IST on Sunday, August 1st
  • Philippine Time: 10 AM PHT on Sunday, August 1st
  • Japan Time: 11 AM on Sunday, August 1st
  • Australia Time: 11: 30 AM on Sunday, August 1st

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Does Nick Frost have a wife? Hot Fuzz star confirms birth of third child