Pokemon Unite is the series’ out-of-nowhere MOBA, and its release date for Nintendo Switch is less than 24-hours away. For trainers who want to play the second it launches, you can boot up your Nintendo Switch right now and preload it at no cost.

The game is said to be the Japanese franchise’s take on League of Legends and it will join mobile in September. As you’d expect, it will star many of your favourite creatures who will be separated by a tier list from S to C.

Although its roster is jam-packed with a variety of cute animals designed to sell toys, you will only be able to get Zeraora if you log into the game before August 31st.

Pokémon UNITE Launch trailer

BridTV
3510
Pokémon UNITE Launch trailer
826988
826988
center
13872

When is the Pokemon Unite release date?

The release date for Pokemon Unite is July 21st, and you can preload it right now from the Nintendo eShop.

Once it becomes available to play, you will be able to join all other trainers on the Aeos Island. This is a special hotspot of beauty where enslaved creatures are especially powerful with enhanced abilities.

In true Pokemon fashion, you will be able to battle players online in 5v5 matches. These contests will see every trainer control one pocket monster each, with five types available: attack, speedster, all-rounder, defender, and supporter.

Below is the full roster:

  • Absol
  • Pikachu
  • Eldegoss
  • Talonflame
  • Snorlax
  • Alolan Ninetales
  • Slowbro
  • Mr. Mime
  • Cramorant
  • Greninja
  • Cinderace
  • Garchomp
  • Gengar
  • Machamp
  • Venusaur
  • Crustle
  • Wigglytuff
  • Lucario
  • Charizard
  • Zerora (if you log in before August 31st)

What time does Pokemon Unite come out?

The release time for when Pokemon Unite will come out is 00:00 PT, 03:00 ET, and 08:00 BST on July 21st.

All of the above hours were confirmed by a Twitter user showing their launch time is 07:00 UTC.

How much does it cost?

It costs nothing to preload and join as it’s a free-to-play experience. However, as you will know from other such titles, this means it comes with microtransactions.

As for what there will be to buy, Pokemon Support says players will be able to purchase Aeos gems. This is one of the in-game currencies which can be used to equip held items such as armour and cookies that provide stat buffs.

In other news, Rumour: Battlefield 1 will be free to download from Amazon Prime Gaming this week