Fans are starting their countdown to the season 1 finale of ‘Imitation’, but what date and time will episode 12 release on TV, iQIYI and Viki Rakuten?

One of the standout ongoing K-dramas, Imitation, may not be the most popular show in South Korea, but the series has certainly made an impact around the globe.

Adapting the hit Webtoon of the same name, this series captured the attention of countless fans online with its intertwining story of romance in the hectic world that is the entertainment industry.

However, as we move towards the highly-anticipated finale, those same fans are preparing themselves for what could be either a heart-breaking ending or the start of a new love story.

Imitation – Official Trailer

BridTV
3608
Imitation – Official Trailer
829979
829979
center
13872

Imitation episode 12: Release date and time

  • Imitation season 1 episode 12 will release on Friday, July 23rd via iQIYI at 11: 10 PM KST and South Korean television at 11: 20 PM KST, before releasing shortly after on Viki Rakuten when the subtitles are available.

The episode will premiere first on KBS2 in South Korea and iQIYI before landing on the Viki streaming platform when the English subtitles are available; the finale is currently labelled for the following international times:

  • Pacific Time: 8 AM PDT on Friday, July 23rd
  • Central Time: 10 AM on Friday, July 23rd
  • Eastern Time: 11 AM on Friday, July 23rd
  • British Time: 4 PM BST on Friday, July 23rd
  • European Time: 5 PM CEST on Friday, July 23rd
  • India Time: 8:30 PM IST on Friday, July 23rd
  • Philippine Time: 11 PM PHT on Friday, July 23rd
  • Korea Time: 12 AM KST on Saturday, July 24th
  • Australia Time: 12:30 AM ACST on Saturday, July 24th

NOTE: The finale may release on Viki as early as 11: 20 PM KST or one hour after the described times depending on if the subtitles take longer to upload, this article will be updated if more information is confirmed.

How to watch the Imitation finale…

The season 1 finale of Imitation will be available to stream through IQIYI and Viki Rakuten.

Viki Rakuten offers several subscription plans; whilst there is a basic package available for $2.99 a month, users will need the standard package in order to watch Imitation; priced at $4.99 per month.

They also offer an additional package that includes access to Korean broadcast content for $9.99 a month.

Episode 12 will release for free at some point, but the release dates for these free upcoming episodes has not been revealed; with only two episodes currently available.

Whilst on IQIYI, the service offers a standard monthly plan for $6.99, with a one month trial costing only 99c.

Domestic failure but international success?

When looking at this series, it’s difficult to imagine any other K-drama having such failure at the domestic level but success internationally.

According to reports from South Korea, Imitation had at one point the joint-lowest ratings for any KBS2 drama, with the second lowest scores for free TV too.

For episode 6, the domestic ratings fell to 0.6%, breaking the record for lowest ratings in free TV history.

However, despite these ratings domestically, Imitation has found great success overseas and is even scoring a solid 8.2/10 on MyDramaList.

Time will tell whether these ratings will be the deciding factor in the series’ future, if Imitation faces a second season.

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

In other news, Dota: Dragon’s Blood season 2 release confirmed by Netflix