Dermot Gallagher told Optus Sport on Premier League Productions that the right call was made to disallow Manchester United’s opening goal against Tottenham on Sunday.
But the former Premier League referee doesn’t think Scott McTominay deserved a red or a yellow card for his supposed foul on Tottenham forward, Heung-Min Son.
Ex-Tottenham man, Glenn Hoddle, thinks the wrong call was made to rule the goal out in the first place, but given the decision that was made by the on-field referee, then he thinks McTominay should have been given his marching orders.
Tottenham went into the half-time break with a 1-0 lead, rather than being 1-0 down, as the referee’s on-field call raised some important questions.
“He (McTominay) pushes his hands out but Son’s trying to grab him first,” said Hoddle. “I think he’s just trying to hold him off. There is contact made. My point is if he thinks that’s a foul then it’s a second yellow. I don’t understand that either.
“I am not 100% happy (that the goal was ruled out). I don’t like the rules. But the rules are the rules, at the minute. Gazza would have been sent off every week then. If he (McTominay) takes a look (at Son) and does that then it’s different.”
Gallagher added: “I don’t think it’s a red card. I think it’s careless. It’s not a red card and it’s not a yellow card – there are three stages, careless, reckless and endangering the safety of an opponent.
“Well, it’s definitely not a red card. We all know that. I think it’s carless. I think it’s an accidental clash. But being accidental doesn’t stop it from being a foul. He has caught him. There is no malice in that. No brutality in that. It’s an accident, it happened and it’s a foul.”
Given that McTominay was punished for fouling Son then the Manchester United man surely should have been handed a second yellow.
If that happened then it perhaps would have been a different ball game, but either way, the away side walked away with a deserved three points.
The mood in the Old Trafford camp would have been a lot different had they not walked away with a win, but it is still a talking point after the match, nonetheless.