What books did Beverly Cleary write? The author passed away on Thursday, March 25th 2021 at the age of 104. Let’s take a look at the books she published and which order they should be read in…

Beverly Cleary was a children’s book author loved the world over. Born in Oregon in 1916, Beverly was placed into a low reading circle as a child which, according to her website was, “an experience that has given her sympathy for the problems of struggling readers“.

Speaking to The Guardian, Beverly said: “By sixth or seventh grade I decided that I was going to write children’s stories.

TIM SLOAN/AFP via Getty Images

What books did Beverly Cleary write?

Beverly Cleary published her first book, Henry Huggins, in 1950. Henry, his dog Ribsy and friends such as Beezus were all characters in the book. Beverly went on to write more books in the Henry Huggins series including Henry and Beezus, Henry and Ribsy and Henry and the Paper Route.

Henry’s friends, Beezus and Ramona, featured in the Henry Huggins series and Ramona later went on to have her very own series of books including Ramona the Pest and Ramona and Her Mother.

Beverly’s books have been such a success around the world that they’ve been published in over 28 languages.

Beverly Cleary books in order

Anyone new to the world of Beverly Cleary books may wonder which order, if any, they should be read in.

The Henry Huggins series is the best place to start as these were Beverly’s first-released books.

Going by the publication dates of Beverly’s books, here’s an order in which to read them:

  • Henry Huggins series
  • Ribsy
  • Ellen Tebbits
  • Otis Spofford
  • Beezus and Ramona and the Ramona series
  • The First Love books including Fifteen, The Luckiest Girl, Jean and Johnny, Sister of the Bride.
  • Ralph S. Mouse
  • Dear Mr. Henshaw and Strider
  • Standalone novels including Beaver and Wally, Ribsy and the P.T.A, Lucky Chuck, The Twins Again, Muggie Maggie and more.
  • Short story Two Times the Fun.

What reading level are Beverly Cleary books?

According to Book Source, Beverly’s Ramona Quimby series is ‘O’ reading level, suitable for second-grade children.

Reading Rockets sets an age range of six to nine years on Beverly Cleary books Henry Huggins, Dear Mr. Henshaw, Lucky Chuck, Muggie Maggie and more.

Overall, Beverly Cleary books are suitable for six to 12 years old, looking at her works as a whole.

In other news, Taylor Swift's Just a Summer thing merch - Where to buy, prices and products explored!