Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images

Chris Sutton controversially stated that Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang ‘dived’ during Arsenal’s FA Cup win over Chelsea on Saturday.

Mikel Arteta’s side came from 1-0 down to beat their London rivals 2-1, but Sutton told BBC Sport that Arsenal and Aubameyang were ‘very, very fortunate’ to be awarded a penalty.

Aubameyang was running through on goal from the left-hand side before he was brought down by  Cesar Azpilicueta, as many felt that the Chelsea man should have seen red.

REACTING TO 19/20 PREMIER LEAGUE PREDICTIONS

brid
623504
REACTING TO 19/20 PREMIER LEAGUE PREDICTIONS
/static/uploads/2020/07/611592_t_1596041447.jpg
611592
center

But during his commentary stint for BBC Sport, ex-Chelsea striker, Sutton, didn’t even think it was a penalty, as he questioned Aubameyang’s actions.

“I have to say Arsenal are very, very fortunate about the penalty award,” Sutton told BBC Sport. “I thought Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang dived.

“Did Aubameyang have to go down? There was not enough contact for him to fall like that.”

Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

The referee on the day was Anthony Taylor and it’s fair to say that his decision-making on the night was questioned by both sides.

In the end, Arsenal deserved the victory as Aubameyang netted his second and the crucial goal with a lovely dinked finish in the second half.

It means that Arteta has lifted his first trophy as Arsenal boss, and as a manager, despite only taking charge in December.

In other news, West Ham fans react to rumours about interest in £20m PL star