Tokyo Ghoul is a popular anime series, but the different seasons, shows, OVA’s and live-actions films can make fans slightly confused at the best order to follow the Tokyo Ghoul story.

The original manga for Tokyo Ghoul began serialisation in 2011 and since then, the story has been adapted into full anime seasons, different anime shows and even a live-action movie.

Tokyo Ghoul is set in an alternate reality where creatures called ‘Ghouls’ disguise themselves as humans and live in secret within our society. The catch, they can only survive by eating human flesh.

The original storyline follows Ken Kaneki, a college student who becomes a half-ghoul after one kills him. Newcomers to the series can be overwhelmed by the volume of Tokyo Ghoul content out there available to view.

So, here is the consensus best order to watch all the Tokyo Ghoul canon material.

Luke Bryan: My Dirt Road Diary | Official Trailer | IMDb TV

What order to watch Tokyo Ghoul

  1. Tokyo Ghoul season 1
  2. Tokyo Ghoul live-action film
  3. Tokyo Ghoul season 2
  4. Tokyo Ghoul: JACK and PINTO OVA’s
  5. Tokyo Ghoul: re

Tokyo Ghoul Season 1

Season 1 of Tokyo Ghoul is all about Kaneki and his transformation into a ghoul after being attacked by his date (who herself was a ghoul).

Members of the ghoul society take him in and teach him the ways of the ghoul, but he struggles to adapt to their flesh-eating ways whilst also keeping it a secret from his human friends.

There are 14 episodes in season 1 of Tokyo Ghoul.

Tokyo Ghoul Live-Action Film

The Tokyo Ghoul live-action film released in Japan back in 2017 and although it is not vital for understanding the overall story, its not a bad watch.

Whilst it can a little cheesy in places, the graphics are certainly better than a lot of other live-action adaptations of anime.

The story is a recap of Tokyo Ghoul season 1 and gives pieces of background information not presented in the anime.

Tokyo Ghoul Season 2

The second season of Tokyo Ghoul is also known as Tokyo Ghoul √A and continues right where season 1 ended.

After an extended period of torture, Kaneki accepts the monster that he has become and now craves flesh more than ever before.

The 12-episode season is well-known for its excellent fight scenes, with the bloody violence of ghoul combat superbly choreographed.

Tokyo Ghoul: JACK and PINTO OVA’s

Next comes the two Original Video Animations for Tokyo Ghoul, JACK and PINTO.

These are prequels to the original series and each tells the background story of how a character becomes the ones we see in the following Tokyo Ghoul:re seasons.

JACK focuses on how Arima came to be in the CCG, giving some information not given in the anime and important details for Tokyo Ghoul:re. Whilst PINTO features both Hori and Tsukiyama in high school.

Tokyo Ghoul:re

Following the OVA’s, you should then move onto the two seasons of the Tokyo Ghoul:re series.

Set two years after the events of the original series, the first season follows Haise Sasaki, the new identity of Ken Kaneki and his journey as the leader of the Quinx Squad.

You can watch Tokyo Ghoul across multiple streaming sites, although checking individual sites is advised.

In other news, Is there a future for The Order after season 3 cancellation?