The answer to the mightiest of questions in Torchlight 2: Are there any differences in difficulty and pets?

Runic Games’ Diablo-esque Torchlight 2 has just released on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Nintendo Switch, meaning console gamers are elated after having been starved ever since 2012. When first starting your adventure, you will want to be privy to whether there are any differences in difficulty and pets.

As mentioned by Polygon and Windows Central, Torchlight 2 is a Diablo competitor that is simply stunning thanks to its addictive gameplay and gorgeous visuals.

It has taken more than five-years to finally land on consoles, but it’s definitely still a game people must pick up despite September being ridiculously busy.

Torchlight 2 difficulty differences

This will be many people’s first time playing Torchlight 2, meaning it’s only natural that novices want to know as much as possible before dipping their toes into the game’s pool of blood and destruction.

One of the questions a lot of people are asking is if there are any differences in difficulty.

While the obvious answer is yes as Normal is understandably harder than Casual, the proper response is sort of.

As with pretty much every other video game that exists, difficulty levels impact the amount of enemy health and damage.

With that being said, any chosen difficulty will not affect item drop rates, except for Casual which sees a 20% increase for gold drops.

But, aside from that, the following modes are only varied by their difficulty:

  • Casual is an adventure that doesn’t enforce a significant challenge.
  • Normal isn’t a pushover, but players won’t need to fully understand all of the game’s mechanics in order to complete.
  • Veteran is for familiar players who enjoy the likes of Diablo and Torchlight.
  • Elite is a relentless peril equivalent to climbing Mount Everest without any legs or arms.

In addition to the above, you should also be aware that multiplayer difficulty levels are determined by the creator of a session.

Torchlight 2 pet differences

Unless you’re an unlovable robot who steals candy from babies while worshipping Satan in your private time, one of the best key features in Torchlight 2 is the addition of a pet.

These beautiful animals fight by your side, as well as carry your unwanted inventory to towns to sell. There are more than ten to choose from, with the line-up including (via Torchlight 2 Wiki):

  • Wolf
  • Cat
  • Bulldog
  • Panther
  • Papillon
  • Ferret
  • Chakawary
  • Hawk
  • Owl
  • Badger
  • Panda
  • Stag
  • Alpaca
  • Faerie (PS4 exclusive)

If you’re umming and ahing about which pet to adopt, the bad news is that there aren’t any differences in benefits to help sway your decision.

The differences are purely cosmetic with the Panda being equally as formidable as the Stark wolf and so on.

But, if you’re in desperate need of improving your pet’s stats and abilities, you can do so by feeding it yummy fish.

And that’s all you need to know about whether there are any differences in difficulty and pets for Torchlight 2.

In other news, What time does the Fortnite Device event start? How to play Doomsday live!