Independent Group enjoy their first Nando's together

Independent Group member MPs (Back row L-R) Former Labour MPs  Chris Leslie, Gavin Shuker, Chuka Umunna and Mike Gapes, (centre row L-R) former Labour MPs Angela Smith, Luciana Berger and...

The newly-formed Independent Group enjoyed their first meal together in Nando's before a vote in the House of Commons.

Chuka Umunna MP posted a photo of the Independent Group enjoying a cheeky Nando's together before a Commons vote. 

Mr. Umunna posted the photo of 11 of their MPs tucking into their meals last night before heading to the Commons: 

View this post on Instagram

First meal out for @theindgroup at Nando’s before votes tonight in the House of Commons!

A post shared by Chuka Umunna (@chuka_umunna) on

The Group, made up of 9 former Labour MPs and 3 former Tories, met for the first time in Westminster yesterday

They are: Luciana Berger (Labour), Chuka Umunna (Labour), Chris Leslie (Labour), Angela Smith (Labour), Heidi Allen (Conservative), Anna Soubry (Conservative), Dr. Sarah Wollaston (Conservative), Gavin Shuker (Labour), Mike Gapes (Labour), Ann Coffey (Labour), Ian Austin (Labour) and Joan Ryan (Labour). 

They elected Mr. Shuker as their convener. 

They also declared they would be supporting Yvette Cooper MP's amendment to prevent a no-deal Brexit

Although Mr. Umunna put himself forward over the weekend for a leadership role, the Group have refused to elect a leader for now. Because no grassroots members have joined them yet, it is unclear how a leader could be elected

According to The Guardian, they have received donations 'in the hundreds of thousands' from individuals.

Claiming to represent the centre ground in British politics, the Independent Group was formed last week by Labour MPs dissatisfied with Mr. Corbyn's handling of Brexit and other issues

The three Tory MPs then joined the Group, claiming the Conservatives have 'shifted to the right.' 

Have something to tell us about this article?