With Devil May Cry 5 near release, Capcom has confirmed a major change in the series’ timeline.

Devil May Cry 5 is near release and while the leaked trophies have confirmed the return of the series’ trademark difficulty modes, Capcom producer Matt Walker has confused the fanbase by altering the franchise’s timeline.

Walker confirmed on Twitter that the order of the Devil May Cry games has changed, with the events of the fourth instalment now taking place after the second. According to Hardware Blitz, this means that the series’ chronological order is now DMC 3> DMC 1 > DMC 2 > DMC 4 > DMC 5.

While Devil May Cry 2 has always been regarded as non-canon, the fourth instalment taking place afterwards has understandably confused fans. Dante went further inside Hell at the end of Devil May Cry 2, so how he returned from Satan’s playground for DMC 4 is a mystery. Perhaps instead of retconning the timeline, Capcom should have followed fans by pretending that Devil May Cry 2 doesn’t exist.

Devil May Cry 5 is scheduled to launch March 8 on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, and Capcom has teased DLC that might let fans play as Lady, Trish, and Nico.