Facebook now lets you unsend messages

Facebook Home App

The new Facebook feature is currently being trialled and rolled out to all of the site’s users. Breathe a sigh of relief.

Previously reserved as an executive perk for Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, the social network is now set to rollout the much-anticipated “unsend” feature for Facebook Messenger.

The “Remove For Everyone” option requires a simple tap on the ill-advised message you’d prefer to never see again — but there’s a pretty big catch: the new function only provides a 10-minute window to delete your message. So, if you wake up in the morning with that familiar sense of creeping dread, this update won’t help you.

All jokes aside, though, the new feature is also a win for privacy campaigners who saw Zuckerberg’s executive privilege as unfair.

The update also comes at a time when Facebook, having already been caught on the back foot, needs to be seen making positive steps in privacy and security issues, having apparently been gathering user data through and app for $20 USD per month.

Have something to tell us about this article?