Confirmed Tottenham v Southampton lineups: Alderweireld returns, Skipp on the bench

Tottenham Hotspur host Southampton this evening.

Spurs head into the game having lost 4-2 at rivals Arsenal on Sunday, and Mauricio Pochettino has unsurprisingly made changes tonight.

Hugo Lloris keeps his place in goal, but Kieran Trippier and Danny Rose come in for Serge Aurier and Ben Davies as the full backs, with Toby Alderweireld in for the suspended Jan Vertonghen at centre back alongside Juan Foyth.

Harry Winks comes into midfield with Eric Dier, whilst Lucas Moura, Christian Eriksen and Son Heung-min supporting Harry Kane in attack.

Dele Alli drops to the bench alongside teenager Oliver Skipp, as well as Davies, Fernando Llorente, Moussa Sissoko, Paulo Gazzaniga and Serge Aurier.

Meanwhile Southampton players will be looking to impress tonight, having seen the club appoint Ralph Hasenhuttl as their new manager today.

Caretaker Kelvin Davis takes charge tonight following Mark Hughes' departure, and he keeps Alex McCarthy in goal after Saturday's 2-2 draw with Manchester United.

Cedric Soares, Jack Stephens, Maya Yoshida and Matt Targett line up across the back four, with what appears to be a midfield trio of Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, Steven Davis and James Ward-Prowse.

Stuart Armstrong and Nathan Redmond will be called upon to support Manolo Gabbiadini in attack, with Charlie Austin only on the bench.

He is joined by Angus Gunn, Jannik Vestergaard, Wesley Hoedt, Oriol Romeu, Yann Valery and Mohamed Elyounoussi.

Tottenham lineup


  • Hugo Lloris
  • Toby Alderweireld
  • Juan Foyth
  • Danny Rose
  • Kieran Trippier
  • Eric Dier
  • Christian Eriksen
  • Lucas
  • Harry Winks
  • Harry Kane
  • Heung-Min Son

Substitutes: Paulo Gazzaniga, Serge Aurier, Ben Davies, Dele Alli, Moussa Sissoko, Fernando Llorente.

Southampton lineup


  • Alex McCarthy
  • Cédric Soares
  • Jack Stephens
  • Matt Targett
  • Maya Yoshida
  • Stuart Armstrong
  • Steven Davis
  • Pierre Højbjerg
  • Nathan Redmond
  • James Ward-Prowse
  • Manolo Gabbiadini

Substitutes: Angus Gunn, Wesley Hoedt, Yann Valery, Jannik Vestergaard, Mohamed Elyounoussi, Oriol Romeu, Charlie Austin.

Have something to tell us about this article?

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch