Confirmed Liverpool v Man City lineups: Alexander-Arnold out, Lovren in

The most eagerly-anticipated game of the Premier League season so far is here as Liverpool host Manchester City at Anfield this afternoon.

Last season's champions head to Merseyside to take on their strongest challengers, with Jurgen Klopp looking to continue his fine run of form over Pep Guardiola, having won the last three meetings with the Spaniard.

Today, Liverpool go with Alisson in goal, with Joe Gomez shifting to right back in order to allow Dejan Lovren to come in and partner Virgil van Dijk at centre back, whilst Andrew Robertson starts at left back.

Jordan Henderson joins James Milner and Georginio Wijnaldum in midfield, with Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah flanking Roberto Firmino in attack.

That means that Trent Alexander-Arnold drops to the bench, alongside Simon Mignolet, Joel Matip, Fabinho, Naby Keita, Xherdan Shaqiri and Daniel Sturridge.

Meanwhile, City have decided to leave Kevin De Bruyne out of their squad as he builds up to a return, and Ederson starts in goal as he so often does.

Benjamin Mendy returns at left back, joining Kyle Walker, John Stones and Aymeric Laporte in the heart of defence, whilst Fernandinho will protect that back four.

Bernardo Silva and David Silva will be the create duo in midfield, with Riyad Mahrez and ex-Liverpool man Raheem Sterling supporting Sergio Aguero up top.

Leroy Sane therefore drops out, and joins Arijanet Muric, Danilo, Vincent Kompany, Nicolas Otamendi, Gabriel Jesus and Phil Foden.

Liverpool lineup


  • Alisson
  • Virgil van Dijk
  • Joe Gomez
  • Dejan Lovren
  • Andrew Robertson
  • Jordan Henderson
  • James Milner
  • Georginio Wijnaldum
  • Roberto Firmino
  • Sadio Mané
  • Mohamed Salah

Substitutes: Simon Mignolet, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Fabinho, Joël Matip, Naby Keïta, Xherdan Shaqiri, Daniel Sturridge.

Man City lineup


  • Ederson
  • Aymeric Laporte
  • Benjamin Mendy
  • John Stones
  • Kyle Walker
  • Fernandinho
  • Riyad Mahrez
  • David Silva
  • Sergio Agüero
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Raheem Sterling

Substitutes: Arijanet Muric, Danilo, Vincent Kompany, Nicolás Otamendi, Phil Foden, Gabriel Jesus, Leroy Sané.

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for MANCHESTER CITY team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch