The 11 Conservative MPs who helped defeat the government over Brexit

The government has been defeated once again. Which Tory MPs joined forces with the opposition?

On Wednesday, Theresa May’s minority administration suffered a set-back when it was defeated on a motion to ensure a “meaningful vote” on the final Brexit deal, as reported by the BBC.

The DUP voted with the government, but the decision made by eleven backbench Conservative MPs to vote for the amendment, resulted in the most significant government defeat to date. Who were the eleven rebels?

1. Dominic Grieve

Grieve, who was the England and Wales Attorney General from 2010-14, has been very vocal about the amendment. He currently serves as the Chair of the Intelligence and Security Committee.

2. Anna Soubry

Soubry is known for being passionately pro-remain. She now serves a backbench Conservative MP, but was previously minister when David Cameron was in power, serving first as the Minister for Defence Personnel, Welfare and Veterans, and then as the Minister for Small Business, Industry and Enterprise.

3. Nicky Morgan

Another high-profile Conservative rebel was Nicky Morgan, who was previously Secretary of State for Education during David Cameron’s time in power.

On Wednesday, she tweeted that the vote meant that parliament had taken over the Brexit process.


4. Kenneth Clarke

The former Chancellor of the Exchequer and long-time Europhile voted for the amendment that resulted in another defeat for May’s minority government. His vote was hardly a surprise considering he was the only Conservative MP to vote against the triggering of Article 50 at the start of the year, as reported by the Guardian.

5. Stephen Hammond

The MP for Wimbledon and former Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Transport, was until this Wednesday Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party.

He tweeted his response to the outcome.

6. Heidi Allen

First elected in 2015, Allen represents the seat of South Cambridgeshire. She recently wrote in the Telegraph calling for a parliamentary vote on the final Brexit deal, something that looks increasingly likely.

7. Sarah Wollaston

Wollaston, who chairs the Health Select Committee is probably best known for originally backing a vote to leave the EU in last year’s referendum before switching sides mid campaign.

The other four:

  • Antoinette Sandbach - a former Welsh Assembly member now the Westminster member for Eddisbury.
  • Bob Neill – the Chair of the Justice Select Committee.
  • Jonathan Djanogly – the MP for Huntington.
  • Oliver Heald – a former Minister for the Courts and Justice.