Confirmed Preston v Aston Villa lineups: Onomah starts, Hogan on the bench

General view of Deepdale before the Sky Bet Championship match between Preston North End and Nottingham Forest on April 1, 2017 in Preston, England.

Preston North End host Aston Villa in the Championship this evening...

North End head into the game having lost 3-2 at home to Brentford on Saturday afternoon, and with just two points in their last four games, Alex Neil's men are looking to get back on track.

Unfortunately for the Lilywhites, they are suffering a defensive nightmare, with Paul Huntington, Ben Davies, Tommy Spurr and Greg Cunningham all unavailable for various reasons.

Chris Maxwell keeps his place in goal, whilst the makeshift back four of Darnell Fisher, Calum Woods, Andy Boyle and Josh Earl start ahead of him, with midfielder Ben Pearson captaining the side.

Pearson is joined in the engine room by Alan Browne and ex-Villa youngster Daniel Johnson, whilst Sean Maguire, Jordan Hugill and Tom Barkhuizen form a dangerous attack.

Another former Villa talent, Callum Robinson, is named on the bench, alongside Mathew Hudson, Kevin O'Connor, Paul Gallagher, Stephy Mavididi, Josh Harrop and Daryl Horgan.

Meanwhile, Villa drew 0-0 with Birmingham City on Sunday, and will hope to get back to winning ways tonight.

Preston-born former North End goalkeeper Sam Johnstone starts in goal for Villa, and will be protected by the tried-and-tested back four of Alan Hutton, James Chester, John Terry and Ahmed Elmohamady.

Josh Onomah and Conor Hourihane join Glenn Whelan in midfield, whilst Albert Adomah and Robert Snodgrass feature out wide.

With Jonathan Kodjia out of action, Keinan Davis leads the line in attack, with Scott Hogan only named on the bench tonight.

Jed Steer, Christopher Samba, Ritchie de Laet, Neil Taylor, Birkir Bjarnason and Mile Jedinak join him as substitutes at Deepdale this evening.

Preston lineup


  • Chris Maxwell
  • Andrew Boyle
  • Joshua Earl
  • Darnell Fisher
  • Calum Woods
  • Alan Browne
  • Daniel Johnson
  • Ben Pearson
  • Jordan Hugill
  • Sean Maguire
  • Tom Barkhuizen

Substitutes: Mathew Hudson, Kevin O'Connor, Paul Gallagher, Josh Harrop, Daryl Horgan, Stephy Mavididi, Callum Robinson.

Aston Villa lineup


  • Sam Johnstone
  • Ahmed El Mohamady
  • James Chester
  • Alan Hutton
  • John Terry
  • Albert Adomah
  • Keinan Davis
  • Conor Hourihane
  • Josh Onomah
  • Robert Snodgrass
  • Glenn Whelan

Substitutes: Jed Steer, Christopher Samba, Ritchie de Laet, Neil Taylor, Birkir Bjarnason, Mile Jedinak, Scott Hogan.

Register for ASTON VILLA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch