Fawcett statue set for Parliament Square – who are the other 11 of?

From Winston Churchill to Abraham Lincoln, who else has a statue in Parliament Square?

A statue of Millicent Fawcett, who was at the forefront of the campaign to get women the vote is set to be unveiled in 2018, according to the BBC. The statue will the first in the Square to depict a woman, something which Mayor of London Sadiq Khan said was “long overdue”, as reported by the BBC.

Which other statues sit in the world-famous Square?

George Canning

Canning was a Tory foreign secretary and prime minister during the first half of the 20th century. Despite having a statue in Parliament Square, he was the country’s shortest-serving prime minister of all time.

Edward Smith-Stanley (Earl of Derby)

The Earl of Derby served as British prime minister on three separate occasions. According to UK government records, this Tory and Whig is known for allowing Jews to get elected to parliament and the significant Second Reform Act (1867), which extended the franchise.

Henry John Temple (Viscount Palmerston)

Palmerston served in a variety of cabinet positions including that of foreign secretary, and eventually became prime minister in 1855 (for three years) and again in 1859 for a further six years. He is known for the allowing the set-up of the Divorce Court, as well as his so-called “manly” foreign affairs policy, according to UK government records.

Robert Peel

This Tory, Conservative and finally Peelite served as prime minister on two separate occasions in the second quarter of the nineteenth century. According to government records, he is known for ending the infamous Corn Laws, which restricted foreign corn from entering the country.

Benjamin Disraeli

This Conservative prime minister from the second-half of the nineteenth century is perhaps best known for this quote:

“There are three kinds of lies: lies, damn lies and statistics.”

One of his big political wins was the Public Health Act of 1875, which helped make crowded cities more habitable, according to government records.

Abraham Lincoln

The only American whose statue appears in Parliament Square, Abraham Lincoln is general ranked as one of America’s best-performing presidents. His main legacy was ending slavery in the States, however, he was assassinated soon into his second-term in 1865.

Jan Smuts

Smuts is the first of two South Africans to be depicted as statues in Parliament Square. He served two terms as his country’s prime minister during the first half of the twentieth century. His election loss in 1948 led to the policy of apartheid.

Winston Churchill

Churchill became prime minister at the start of the Second World War, and his known worldwide for his leadership during the troublesome time. In the first post-war election, Labour’s Clement Attlee won a thumping majority, but Churchill returned to the role of prime minister six years later only to step down soon after due to ill-health.

Nelson Mandela

The late Nelson Mandela, who passed away in 2013, was a big figure in South Africa’s anti-apartheid campaign. He spent almost thirty years of his life in prison as a result of his campaigning, but ended up becoming his country’s president in 1994, serving right up until 1999.

David Lloyd George

Like Churchill, Lloyd George served as prime minister during a time of war. He became PM in 1916, and won a second-term in the first vote after the Great War. When he was chancellor, he played a significant role in delivering the National Insurance scheme and other great Liberal Reforms.

Mahatma Gandhi

Born in 1869, Gandhi was a key figure in the Indian independence movement, and is known for his pro-peace approach in trying to secure his nation’s freedom.

A list of all eleven statues in Parliament Square can be accessed here.

Have something to tell us about this article?