7 seats the Liberal Democrats must target at the next election

In June’s snap election, the Liberal Democrat made a net gain of four seats, but they can do much better in 2022.

7th – Devon North

The Liberal Democrats held this seat from 1987 right up until the 2015 election when the party lost it along with the vast majority of the rest of their seats. 2017 gave former MP Nick Harvey a chance to take back the seat, and although his vote share went up, he was beaten by Tory incumbent Peter Heaton-Jones.

With just 4,332 votes between the top two, this is a seat that the Liberal Democrats should focus on come the next election.

6th – Cheltenham

Like in Devon North, the traditionally orange Gloucestershire seat turned blue in 2015 and stayed blue in 2017.

Just 2,569 votes stood in the way of former Liberal Democrat MP Martin Horwood retaking his seat in the recent election.

5th – Sheffield Hallam

June’s snap election was full of surprises, not least Nick Clegg’s defeat in this northern constituency. The young Labour candidate Jared O’Mara won with 38.4% of the vote, 2,125 votes more than the former deputy prime minister.

Clegg has declared his intentions not to stand in the next election, according to the Lib Dems’ Mark Pack, but this will no doubt be a key target seat for the Liberal Democrats next time around.

4th – St. Ives

Britain’s most south-western constituency was also lost to the Tories in 2015, and again in 2017. Former Lib Dem MP Andrew George failed at making a comeback earlier this year, but came just 312 votes short of retaking the seat, a result which was agonisingly close for the party.

3rd – Ceredigion

The loss of this seat in 2017 left the Liberal Democrats without any Westminster representation in Wales for the first time in decades.

Plaid Cymru won the vote with just 29.2% of the vote, coming just 104 votes ahead of the Liberal Democrats.

2nd – Richmond Park

Richmond Park was held by the Tories' Zac Goldsmith right up until the 2016 by-election, which saw the Liberal Democrats’ Sarah Olney take the seat in a stunning victory in a strongly pro-EU area.

Olney’s time as an MP soon was cut short by the snap election, at which she lost it to Goldsmith, coming just 45 votes behind him.

1st Fife North East

Menzies Campbell’s former seat is now the UK’s most marginal seat with just two votes separating the SNP and the Liberal Democrats in June’s election.

Had just two more Fifers cast their ballots in favour of the Lib Dems’ Elizabeth Riches, she would be the constituency’s MP today.

A full list of Liberal Democrat target seats for the next election can be accessed here at ElectionPolling.co.uk.

Have something to tell us about this article?