Alan Smith picks four Tottenham players in his Premier League Team of the Year

Tottenham's Harry Kane during training

Alan Smith has picked four Tottenham Hotspur players in his Premier League Team of the Year.

Tottenham's Toby Alderweireld celebrates after the gameTottenham's Toby Alderweireld celebrates after the game

Alan Smith has picked his best Premier League XI for

The PFA Team of the Year was announced yesterday and it had four players each from title contenders Chelsea and Tottenham. However, Smith has picked three players from Chelsea.

The football pundit has also included Southampton’s highly rated defender Virgil Van Dijk in his best XI. He has picked four players from Tottenham but made one change from PFA’s team of the year.

He has picked Danny Rose and Toby Alderweireld in defence, Dele Alli in midfield, and Harry Kane as a striker upfront in a 4-4-2 system.

In PFA’s TOTY, Alderweireld missed out, while Kyle Walker was included. Smith here has opted for Chelsea’s Cesar Azpilicueta in place of Walker.

Smith says that Alderweireld is a quality player, and that the Belgian is one his favourite defenders in the Premier League.

While choosing his left-back, Smith says that Rose has enjoyed a brilliant campaign for Spurs and has been head and shoulders above the rest.

"Ryan Bertrand has done ever so well for Southampton this season and there are a few other candidates who could get in there, but it has to be Danny Rose given the season he has had," said Smith to

Smith has waxed lyrical about the rise of Dele Alli, saying the England midfielder is a wonderful player. He adds that Alli is on course to become a fantastic footballer, and that Mauricio Pochettino is the perfect manager for him.

In the forward department, Smith was stuck for choices between Harry Kane and Diego Costa, but the England striker edges the Chelsea star by a whisker.

"It is between Harry Kane and Diego Costa up top, but I just love Harry Kane and so he gets my nod to play in attack," he added. 

Here is Smith’s best Premier League XI of the season:

David de Gea, Cesar Azpilicueta, Virgil van Dijk, Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, N'Golo Kante, Dele Alli, Sadio Mane, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku.

Tottenham's Danny Rose in actionTottenham's Danny Rose in action

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch