Confirmed England line-up: Five Tottenham players start, Lallana handed wide role

Here is how England and Russia will line up this evening...

England open their Euro 2016 campaign with a game against Group B rivals Russia in Marseille this evening.

Roy Hodgson's men saw Wales beat Slovakia 2-1 earlier this evening, and now it's England's turn at the Stade Velodrome.

The Three Lions are going with an attacking 4-3-3 line-up tonight, as Wayne Rooney will drop into midfield, whilst Liverpool star Adam Lallana and Manchester City's Raheem Sterling will play out wide.

The line-up includes five Tottenham players, as Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Eric Dier, Dele Alli and Harry Kane all start.

That means that the likes of Nathaniel Clyne, Jordan Henderson, Jack Wilshere, Daniel Sturridge and Jamie Vardy are all on the bench tonight.

Russia head into the game having suffered a host of injuries in the run-up to the tournament, as midfielders Igor Denisov, Alan Dzagoev and Denis Cheryshev are all out of the competition.

That means that Ukrainian-born Roman Neustadter, who recently switched allegiance from Germany to Russia, starts in holding midfield, and is accompanied by young midfielder Aleksandr Golovin.

Manager Leonid Slutsky has named three strikers in his side, as Aleksandr Kokorin and Fedor Smolov will support Artem Dzyuba in attack.

England lineup


  • Joe Hart
  • Gary Cahill
  • Eric Dier
  • Danny Rose
  • Chris Smalling
  • Kyle Walker
  • Dele Alli
  • Adam Lallana
  • Raheem Sterling
  • Harry Kane
  • Wayne Rooney

Substitutes: Fraser Forster, Tom Heaton, Ryan Bertrand, Nathaniel Clyne, John Stones, Ross Barkley, Jordan Henderson, James Milner, Jack Wilshere, Marcus Rashford, Daniel Sturridge, Jamie Vardy.

Russia lineup


  • Igor Akinfeev
  • Vasili Berezutski
  • Sergei Ignashevich
  • Georgi Schennikov
  • Igor Smolnikov
  • Aleksandr Golovin
  • Roman Neust├Ądter
  • Oleg Shatov
  • Artyom Dzyuba
  • Aleksandr Kokorin
  • Fyodor Smolov

Substitutes: Guilherme, Yuri Lodygin, Aleksei Berezutski, Roman Shishkin, Denis Glushakov, Oleg Ivanov, Dmitri Kombarov, Pavel Mamaev, Aleksandr Samedov, Roman Shirokov, Dmitri Torbinski, Artur Yusupov.

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch