Official: Manchester United's 28 man squad for Champions League qualifiers

Manchester United's 28 man squad for Champions League qualifiers has been named.

Manchester United have confirmed via their official website the 28 players who will form their squad for the Champions League qualifying round against Club Brugges.

Goalkeepers: David De Gea, Anders Lindegaard, Sergio Romero, Sam Johnstone.

Defenders: Phil Jones, Marcos Rojo, Jonny Evans, Chris Smalling, Luke Shaw, Paddy McNair, Matteo Darmian, Tyler Blackett.

Midfielders: Adnan Januzaj, Michael Carrick, Daley Blind, Ashley Young, Ander Herrera, Antonio Valencia, Marouane Fellaini, Morgan Schneiderlin, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Jesse Lingard, Andreas Pereira, Memphis Depay, Juan Mata.

Strikers: Wayne Rooney, Javier Hernandez, James Wilson.

Key takeaways:

United's strength in depth at the goalkeeper position is evident, and that's without the omitted Victor Valdes.

Even if David de Gea plays against Club Brugges, he will not be cup tied for the group stages of the Champions League, so United cannot attempt to put Real Madrid off a transfer using that tactic.

It may have been a long shot but there is no call up for right-back Guillermo Varela despite an impressive performance and goal for the under-21 side earlier this week.

The midfield looks strong, and Marouane Fellaini is likely to see some game time in his homeland as Louis van Gaal looks to rotate his squad. Fellaini remains suspended for the next two games of the Premier League season after his final day red card against Hull.

The striker list illustrates how light United are at the position, and even if they tie up a late deal, having submitted this list to UEFA, it could be too late to help them qualify for the group stages.

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch