Square Enix and Remember Me Devs announce new episodic game

Life is Strange Chloe Gun 1

Life is Strange is a digital-only episodic game coming to PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC from developer Dontnod.

When Dontnod Entertainment's debut game, Remember Me, was released last year it was met with a mixed reception. It’s story, overall spirit, and world were positively met, however it’s gameplay was felt to be weak. The devs of the game are taking a different direction with their new title – Life is Strange.

The game centres on Max Caulfield, who returns home to Arcadia Bay, Oregon after five years. She meets back up with her old friend Chloe, and the two of them try to find fellow student Rachel Amber, who has gone missing. Max also discovers she has the power to rewind time, so players can 'affect the game’s narrative and also change the course of history itself.'

Jean-Max Moris, Creative Director at Dontnod Entertainment has said, ‘everybody at DONTNOD is excited to be working on such a refreshing title. We’re not only crafting the best game we possibly can, we also feel we’re providing the type of experience that perfectly fits today’s renewed taste for originality and diversity.’

Jon Brooke, VP Brand and European Marketing Square Enix Europe also commented, saying, ‘when we first saw Life is Strange we immediately realised that Dontnod have created a unique experience, something special. Everyone who’s seen the game has instantly fallen in love with its distinctive style and mood.'

Have a look at a couple of the released screenshots for the game, and some artwork below.

Life is Strange Max and chloe Car 1

Life is Strange Chloe Gun 1

Life is Strange Basement 1Life is Strange Max Concept Art 1

No release date has yet been announced, but the game is on show at Gamescom in Germany this week, so more details may emerge soon.

Related articles:

Ubisoft's Gamescom line up



Register for HITC Gaming Digest