Arsenal trio Mesut Ozil, Per Mertesacker and Lukas Podolski are now world champions following Germany’s triumph at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Arsenal have not won the Premier League since 2004 and ended their nine-year trophy drought only in May with an extra-time victory over Hull City in the final of the FA Cup.

The Gunners have often been accused of not having enough players with a ‘winning mentality’, but next season it will all be different.

That’s because the North London outfit will start the 2014-15 campaign with no fewer than three World Cup winners in their squad.

Per Mertesacker, Lukas Podolski and Mesut Ozil all played their parts in Germany’s triumph in Brazil, as the European giants won the World Cup for the fourth time in their history.

  Team Pos Won Apps Mins
Mesut Özil Germany MF 6 7 654
Per Mertesacker Germany DF 4 5 435
Lukas Podolski Germany FW 2 2 53

As clear from the stats above, Ozil was the more prominent among the Arsenal trio and, despite concerns that he did not perform to the best of his abilities in Brazil, the 25-year-old former Real Madrid star did his job quietly and gracefully.

  Team Pos Goals Goal Assist Accurate Cross Dribbles Won Accurate Through Ball Apps Mins
Mesut Özil Germany MF 1 1 4 11 2 7 654

Next season’s Premier League title race promises to be very tough, with Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool all set to make it one of the most competitive in history.

Arsenal will once again commence the campaign as one of the favourites, but there will be concerns that, just like in previous years, Arsene Wenger’s side may fall apart in the latter stages.

However, the confidence that Ozil, Mertesacker and Podolski have gained from their World Cup triumph is certainly going to have a positive effect on the other Arsenal players, and perhaps next season the North London club will regain the league title.

In other news, Predicted Arsenal XI for Spurs: Arteta brings back attacker, as 27-year-old misses out