Games you have to play: Lego Marvel Super Heroes

Lego Marvel Super Heros 1

Lego Marvel Superheroes is a perfect combination of Lego and the Marvel universe. What's not to love? It's quite literally a blockbuster!

Whether you are among the hardcore comic fans, the superhero film fanatics, or you have been living under a rock and haven't yet been introduced to the world of Marvel, You will not have any trouble falling in love with this game.

Lego Marvel Super Heros definitely provides the content to suit a large audience. For the kids the Lego style will be more than appealing with all the new powers and special effects For the Marvel fans the plot, the numerous Stan Lee cameos, the 149 recognizable and playable characters ranging from members of the X-men, Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers Assemble, Fantastic Four, Sinister Six, even characters such as Deadpool, Ghost Rider and Blade etc... will fail to disappoint.

A large amount of the game's components are made completely out of Lego bricks, with some exceptions for the open world environment. The world itself is very authentic and reflects a surreal interpretation of the Marvel universe. The characters have been presented phenomenally with humorous additions; Whether you are watching Sandman transform into a jumping sandcastle or sand cannon, Mister Fantastic turning into a teacup and stretching into a variety of different objects throughout the campaign, or wrecking havoc with Howard the Duck, entertainment is inevitable.

The game can feel repetitive in certain places; especially the side missions, but there is not enough repetition to destroy the atmosphere and flow of the game. Although it is not the most challenging experience (unless you are trying not to enjoy your experience) and the gameplay is designed for the kids, there’s scope for a much larger gaming audience to interact with the game from Marvel and Lego fans alike.

Upon arriving at Earth, flying in the atmosphere above New York the Silver Surfer is chased down by a very confused Iron Man. The Surfer is then shot down by Dr. Doom.

The Silver Surfer's board is broken and the cosmic Lego bricks from which the board is made are scattered across New York City. Dr. Doom is after these cosmic bricks in order to build the ultimate weapon; "Dr Doom's Doom Ray of Doom" as part of his master plan to take over the world. To help him do this Dr. Doom assembles Loki, Magneto, Abomination, Sandman, Sabretooth, Red Skull, Venom, Green Goblin, Doctor Octopus etc... with; many other villains who have been broken out from Ryker's Island.

Playing throughout the story as Iron Man, Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine, The Human Torch, Thor, Hawkeye, Black Widow, Captain America, Mr. Fantastic, The Thing, Invisible Woman, Jean Grey, Storm, Cyclops... The list goes on... The superheroes have joined forces at the request of S.H.I.E.L.D to recover the cosmic bricks and bring down the super-villains.

However an extraterrestrial threat approaches Earth...

Galactus, the devourer of the worlds, has been following the Silver Surfer's trail to Earth and unless the Silver Surfer can recover the cosmic bricks to build his surfboard and lead Galactus away from Earth, the planet is doomed. Loki has an evil plan of his own which unfolds later in the plot.

Lego Marvel Super Hros is available on the Playstation 3, Playstation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One and PC;

There are also versions on the Nintendo 3DS and Wii U which differ from the game. The game features 149 unlockable, playable characters from the Marvel universe, (165 with the additional downloadable content) races, side missions, a large variety of superpowers including: fire, ice, electric, super-strength, flying, telekinesis, invisibility etc... which can be exploited to complete puzzles, challenges and to blast your way through the story. The after-game consists of 8 bonus missions which although a lot shorter are equally as fun as some of the levels in the story mode. All of the missions are completely replayable and all characters are available in free play.

The Asguard character pack is now available on the Playstation Store and Xbox Live Marketplace

Have something to tell us about this article?

Register for HITC Gaming Digest