Confirmed Newcastle v Tottenham line-ups: Walker-Peters starts, Son on the bench

Newcastle United take on Tottenham Hotspur in the Premier League this afternoon.

Rafael Benitez’s Magpies return to the Premier League this afternoon after a one-season absence, and will be hoping to get their season off to the ideal start.

Benitez has been a little frustrated in the transfer market this summer, but he is at least able to call up on new signings Florian Lejeune and Javier Manquillo in his starting line-up this afternoon.

Rob Elliot gets the nod in goal, with Manquillo and Lejeune joined in defence by Ciaran Clark and Paul Dummett.

Jonjo Shelvey and Isaac Hayden will play in holding midfield, with Matt Ritchie, Ayoze Perez and Christian Atsu called up on to support striker Dwight Gayle, who has been passed fit to play.

Summer additions Mikel Merino and Jacob Murphy are only named on the bench, alongside Karl Darlow, Chancel Mbemba, Jamaal Lascelles, Rolando Aarons and Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Meanwhile, Tottenham Hotspur are the only Premier League side yet to make a new signing this summer, with Mauricio Pochettino also dented after losing right back Kyle Walker to Manchester City.

With Kieran Trippier injured, Pochettino has been forced to go with youngster Kyle Walker-Peters at right back this afternoon, handing him his first Premier League start.

Hugo Lloris starts in goal, with Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen and Ben Davies across the back four, whilst Eric Dier and Mouse Dembele start in midfield.

Ex-Newcastle midfielder Moussa Sissoko features alongside Christian Eriksen and Deli Alli in playing behind Harry Kane, with Son Heung-min only fit enough for the bench.

Son is joined on the bench by Michel Vorm, Kevin Wimmer, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Victor Wanyama, Harry Winks and Vincent Janssen.

Newcastle lineup


  • Robert Elliot
  • Ciaran Clark
  • Paul Dummett
  • Florian Lejeune
  • Javier Manquillo
  • Christian Atsu
  • Isaac Hayden
  • Matt Ritchie
  • Jonjo Shelvey
  • Ayoze Pérez
  • Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Jamaal Lascelles, Chancel Mbemba, Rolando Aarons, Jacob Murphy, Mikel Merino, Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Tottenham lineup


  • Hugo Lloris
  • Toby Alderweireld
  • Ben Davies
  • Jan Vertonghen
  • Kyle Walker-Peters
  • Dele Alli
  • Mousa Dembélé
  • Eric Dier
  • Christian Eriksen
  • Moussa Sissoko
  • Harry Kane

Substitutes: Michel Vorm, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Kevin Wimmer, Son Heung-Min, Victor Wanyama, Harry Winks, Vincent Janssen.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for NEWCASTLE UNITED team updates

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch