Four players who will be disappointed to miss out on PFA Team of the Year

Manchester United's Zlatan Ibrahimovic in action with Tottenham's Toby Alderweireld

Representatives from Tottenham, Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester United may all feel they deserved a spot in the Premier League's celebrated eleven.

Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane wins the 2015/16 Barclays Golden Boot Award, scoring 25 goals.Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane, last season's Golden Boot Award, is included for the third year in a row.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Season has been announced, and as usual, there are a number of outstanding players who may feel hard done by not to have been included in the XI.

Both Tottenham Hotspur and Chelsea have four players in the side, while Liverpool, Everton and Manchester United have one selection each to round off the team.

But below are four others who arguably were deserving of a place:

Toby Alderweireld - Tottenham Hotspur

The Belgian is widely regarded as the league's top centre back, and with Spurs boasting the best defence in the top flight, it is a surprise that Toby Alderweireld has been snubbed. He made the cut last season, and if anything has only further underlined his quality this time round. Is there room to argue that he should be included ahead of the two Chelsea defenders selected? Well, then perhaps Blues supporters would argue for the inclusion of Cesar Azpilicueta or Marcos Alonso at fullback instead of one of the Tottenham pair.

Alexis Sanchez - Arsenal

Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez in action with Manchester City's Jesus NavasArsenal's Alexis Sanchez in action with Manchester City's Jesus Navas

Though Arsenal are not enjoying their best season by any stretch, their talisman Alexis Sanchez surely merits inclusion in the best eleven this season. With 19 goals and nine assists, only Romelu Lukaku has been involved in more goals than the Chilean in the Premier League this season, suggesting a place on the wing instead of Sadio Mane may have been warranted. If he scores one more league goal, it will have been the 28-year-old's best goalscoring season.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic - Manchester United

Incredibly, this is the first time Zlatan Ibrahimovic hasn't made a team of the season selection since 2010, and that's not for lack of match winning performances. Four times in the Ligue 1 Team of the Season with PSG, twice there in the Serie A side while at Milan, Manchester United would be in real trouble without the Swedish superstar's 17 league goals. Admittedly, that is three short of Harry Kane's 20 strikes, but there can be no denying his impact at Old Trafford and in the Premier League in general.

Diego Costa - Chelsea 

Chelsea's Diego Costa in action with Tottenham's Toby AlderweireldChelsea's Diego Costa in action with Tottenham's Toby Alderweireld

If Chelsea go on and win the league, this year's PFA Team of the Season will be unique in that the league winner's top scorer won't be included in the best eleven. The last time this happened was in 2012 when Manchester City won the league, but top scorer Sergio Aguero was snubbed for a place in the team. With 17 goals to his name, Costa is behind both Kane and Romelu Lukaku, but if his goals help his team to the title, it is easy to understand the argument for why he should be included.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for CHELSEA team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch