Graham Roberts says every other team is jealous of Tottenham duo Vertonghen and Alderweireld

Tottenham's Toby Alderweireld and Jan Vertonghen

The Tottenham Hotspur pair were not named in the PFA's Team of the Year, much to a former star's frustration.

Tottenham's Jan Vertonghen

Former Tottenham Hotspur defender Graham Roberts has taken to Twitter following the announcement of the PFA’s Team of the Year.

While Spurs have four players in the XI in the form of Danny Rose, Kyle Walker, Dele Alli and Harry Kane, the most notable omission is Belgian international Toby Alderweireld.

Roberts has noted that, going one further to suggest that his countryman Jan Vertonghen has also been overlooked.

“Jan and Toby best two centre halves in the league by a mile; every other team jealous of them,” Roberts wrote.

That is a bold statement, but it is one many Tottenham fans will no doubt agree with.

In their place, Chelsea duo Gary Cahill and David Luiz were named in the prestigious team, with the Blues currently fighting Tottenham for the Premier League title.

They have certainly done well for Antonio Conte’s side, yet Roberts for one feels there is simply none better than the Spurs pair right now.

If they end the season with a trophy or two, they and their manager Mauricio Pochettino will have the last laugh.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch