Confirmed Hull v Newcastle lineups: Benitez hands rare start to defensive summer signing

Hull City KC South Stand

Newcastle United travel to take on Hull City at the KCOM Stadium this evening...

Hull head into tonight's game having drawn 1-1 at home with West Bromwich Albion on Saturday evening, and beat Bristol City in the last round to set up a tie with another Championship side in Newcastle.

Mike Phelan's men have lined up in what appears to be a 4-3-3 system tonight, with a back four of Ahmed Elmohamady, Michael Dawson, Harry Maguire and Andrew Robertson in front of goalkeeper Eldin Jakupovic.

Former Sunderland ace David Meyler starts in midfield along with Tom Huddlestone and Jake Livermore, with Robert Snodgrass and Adama Diomande supporting Dieumerci Mbokani in attack.

It's a youthful bench for the Tigers tonigh, as the likes of Josh Tymon, Jarrod Bowen, Greg Olley and James Weir are all named as substitutes, along with the more experienced trio of Curtis Davies, David Marshall and Markus Henriksen.

Meanwhile, Newcastle need to respond having been beaten 1-0 at home by Blackburn Rovers on Saturday afternoon, with Rafael Benitez calling upon ex-Hull man Mohamed Diame in midfield.

Matz Sels comes back in goal ahead of Karl Darlow, whilst Achraf Lazaar makes a rare start having played just twice for Newcastle since signing from Palermo over the summer.

Lazaar joins Vurnon Anita, Ciaran Clark and Jamaal Lascelles in the back four, whilst Diame lines up behind lone striker Dwight Gayle and ahead of holding midfielders Jonjo Shelvey and Isaac Hayden, with Yoan Gouffran and Matt Ritchie out wide.

Benitez's features backup goalkeeper Darlow, as well as Chancel Mbemba, DeAndre Yedlin, Paul Dummett, Cheick Tiote, Christian Atsu and striker Daryl Murphy, who has played just once since joining Ipswich Town in August.

Hull lineup


  • Eldin Jakupović
  • Michael Dawson
  • Harry Maguire
  • Andrew Robertson
  • Ahmed Elmohamady
  • Tom Huddlestone
  • Jake Livermore
  • David Meyler
  • Robert Snodgrass
  • Adama Diomandé
  • Dieumerci Mbokani

Substitutes: David Marshall, Curtis Davies, Josh Tymon, Markus Henriksen, Greg Olley, James Weir, Jarrod Bowen.

Newcastle lineup


  • Matz Sels
  • Ciaran Clark
  • Jamaal Lascelles
  • Achraf Lazaar
  • Vurnon Anita
  • Mohamed Diamé
  • Yoan Gouffran
  • Isaac Hayden
  • Matt Ritchie
  • Jonjo Shelvey
  • Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Paul Dummett, Chancel Mbemba, DeAndre Yedlin, Christian Atsu, Cheick Tioté, Daryl Murphy.

Register for NEWCASTLE UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch