Confirmed Newcastle v Reading line-ups: Clark makes debut, Gouffran handed shock start

Here is how Newcastle and Reading line up this evening.

Newcastle United take on Reading in the Championship this evening, and are searching for their first league win of the season at the third time of asking.

The Magpies lost both of their two opening games of the season, with a 1-0 defeat at Fulham and a shock 2-1 loss to Huddersfield Town.

The pre-season title favourites are now under pressure to get off the mark, and manager Rafael Benitez has rung the changes for this evening's game at St. James' Park.

Jamaal Lascelles has surprisingly been dropped to the substitute's bench this evening, with summer signing Ciaran Clark coming in for his debut having signed from Aston Villa.

Vurnon Anita moves from midfield to right back in place of Daryl Janmaat, whilst Ayoze Perez and Matt Ritchie come in for Mohamed Diame and Rolando Aarons.

Yoann Gouffran is the shock inclusion on the left hand side of midfield, with the Frenchman handed a chance to shine tonight having been frozen out so far.

Aarons, Janmaat and Lascelles are all dropped to the bech, alongside Grant Hanley, Jack Colback and Adam Armstrong.

Meanwhile, Reading boss Jaap Stam will be looking for a response having lost 2-0 to Wolves on Saturday afternoon.

Stam has gone with a strong back four of Chris Gunter, Paul McShane, Joey van den Berg and Jordan Obita, whilst George Evans, Danny Williams and John Swift will start in midfield.

Wingers Roy Beerens and Garath McClearly will support Yann Kermorgant in attack, with the likes of Joseph Mendes, Stephen Quinn, Deniss Rakels and Jack Cooper all named on the bench by Stam.

Newcastle lineup


  • Matz Sels
  • Ciaran Clark
  • Paul Dummett
  • Chancel Mbemba
  • Vurnon Anita
  • Yoan Gouffran
  • Isaac Hayden
  • Matt Ritchie
  • Jonjo Shelvey
  • Ayoze PĂ©rez
  • Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Grant Hanley, Daryl Janmaat, Jamaal Lascelles, Rolando Aarons, Jack Colback, Adam Armstrong.

Reading lineup


  • Ali Al Habsi
  • Chris Gunter
  • Paul McShane
  • Jordan Obita
  • Roy Beerens
  • George Evans
  • Garath McCleary
  • John Swift
  • Joey van den Berg
  • Danny Williams
  • Yann Kermorgant

Substitutes: Anssi Jaakkola, Jake Cooper, Tennai Watson, Stephen Quinn, Yakou Meite, Joseph Mendes, Deniss Rakels.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for NEWCASTLE UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch