Predicting Manchester United's first six Premier League results of 2016/17

A street seller holds a Jose Mourinho themed Manchester United scarf at Old Trafford, Manchester

Here is a look at how Manchester United could get on in the opening weeks of the season.

Former Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho leaves his home in LondonManchester United manager Jose Mourinho leaves his home in London

The Jose Mourinho era is here at Manchester United, and seems that little bit more real now the fixtures for 2016/17 have been announced. 

The Red Devils will be looking to strengthen considerably in the transfer window, and get back among the mix to compete for the title, after three years out of the picture.

Manchester United manager Louis van GaalFormer Manchester United manager Louis van Gaal

United's opening game is away to Bournemouth, a game they lost last season under Louis van Gaal, but it should also be remembered that Mourinho has never lost on the opening day of any Premier League campaign.

Here is a look at United's opening six games, and our predictions for the fixtures...

Bournemouth (A) - Win, Southampton (H) - Win, Hull (A) - Win, Manchester City (H) - Draw, Watford (A) - Draw, Leicester City (H) - Win.

General view during the matchGeneral view during the match

This would be a positive start to the season for United despite failing to beat City at home. They would be unbeaten in their first six games, with 14 points from a possible 18.

The fixtures fall kindly early on and anything less than this points tally could be considered disappointing. Tougher tests will lie ahead, but it is a good opportunity for United to get off to a strong start.

Here is the complete list of United's fixtures

A street seller holds a Jose Mourinho themed Manchester United scarf at Old Trafford, Manchester

Saturday 13th August 3:00pm
Bournemouth v Man Utd
Vitality Stadium

Saturday 20th August 3:00pm
Man Utd v Southampton
Old Trafford

Saturday 27th August 3:00pm
Hull v Man Utd
The KC Stadium

Saturday 10th September 3:00pm
Man Utd v Man City
Old Trafford

Saturday 17th September 3:00pm
Watford v Man Utd
Vicarage Road

Saturday 24th September 3:00pm
Man Utd v Leicester
Old Trafford

Saturday 1st October 3:00pm
Man Utd v Stoke
Old Trafford

Saturday 15th October 3:00pm
Liverpool v Man Utd
Anfield

Saturday 22nd October 3:00pm
Chelsea v Man Utd
Stamford Bridge

Saturday 29th October 3:00pm
Man Utd v Burnley
Old Trafford

Saturday 5th November 3:00pm
Swansea v Man Utd
Liberty Stadium

Saturday 19th November 3:00pm
Man Utd v Arsenal
Old Trafford

Saturday 26th November 3:00pm
Man Utd v West Ham
Old Trafford

Saturday 3rd December 3:00pm
Everton v Man Utd
Goodison Park

Saturday 10th December 3:00pm
Man Utd v Tottenham
Old Trafford

Tuesday 13th December 8:00pm
C. Palace v Man Utd
Selhurst Park

Saturday 17th December 3:00pm
West Brom v Man Utd
The Hawthorns

Monday 26th December 3:00pm
Man Utd v Sunderland
Old Trafford

Saturday 31st December 3:00pm
Man Utd v Middlesbrough
Old Trafford

Monday 2nd January 3:00pm
West Ham v Man Utd
Olympic Stadium

Saturday 14th January 3:00pm
Man Utd v Liverpool
Old Trafford

Saturday 21st January 3:00pm
Stoke v Man Utd
Britannia Stadium

Tuesday 31st January 8:00pm
Man Utd v Hull
Old Trafford

Saturday 4th February 3:00pm
Leicester v Man Utd
King Power Stadium

Saturday 11th February 3:00pm
Man Utd v Watford
Old Trafford

Saturday 25th February 3:00pm
Man City v Man Utd
Etihad Stadium

Saturday 4th March 3:00pm
Man Utd v Bournemouth
Old Trafford

Saturday 11th March 3:00pm
Southampton v Man Utd
St. Mary's Stadium

Saturday 18th March 3:00pm
Middlesbrough v Man Utd
Riverside Stadium

Saturday 1st April 3:00pm
Man Utd v West Brom
Old Trafford

Tuesday 4th April 8:00pm
Man Utd v Everton
Old Trafford

Saturday 8th April 3:00pm
Sunderland v Man Utd
Stadium of Light

Saturday 15th April 3:00pm
Man Utd v Chelsea
Old Trafford

Saturday 22nd April 3:00pm
Burnley v Man Utd
Turf Moor

Saturday 29th April 3:00pm
Man Utd v Swansea
Old Trafford

Saturday 6th May 3:00pm
Arsenal v Man Utd
Emirates Stadium

Saturday 13th May 3:00pm
Tottenham v Man Utd
White Hart Lane

Sunday 21st May 3:00pm
Man Utd v C. Palace
Old Trafford

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch