Liverpool's fixtures: A tough start but with plenty of opportunities

Liverpool fans

All the talk is about the start, but there are runs of games where Liverpool should look to build some good momentum.

Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp during training

The headlines for Liverpool's Premier League fixtures in the 2016/17 season will have been a series of tough away games for Jurgen Klopp and his side to get stuck into.

The Reds face away games against Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur and Chelsea in their opening five games, as well as a home game against Leicester City - the unexpected Champions of 2016.

Difficult? You bet! If they were offered 10 points from their opening five games I think many Liverpool fans will take it right now.

Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp speaks with Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger

But look at the opposition. Arsenal have a tendency to lose their opening home games - Aston Villa in 2013 and West Ham United last season spring to mind - and there could still be that element of unrest from fans surrounding Arsene Wenger's position as manager. 

It will be interesting to see how Tottenham respond to their heartache and collapse in the title race last season. A lot could also depend on their strong English contingent in Euro 2016. Disappointment in that tournament after that could leave the side pretty dispirited going into next season, although it must be said Liverpool might have to deal with similar things following their Europa League final disappointment last term. 

Then there is a Leicester City side who will face a new series of challenges in the season ahead following their remarkable title success. They will just have started on their first campaign in the Champions League - when the Reds have no European football - and have a little more expectation on their shoulders following their success. Sides will inevitably raise their game for the Foxes. 

Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp speaks with Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri

By the time the Chelsea game comes around, Liverpool will have already had one look at them during a pre-season friendly in the United States, while Antonio Conte's reign at Stamford Bridge will still be in its infancy. There could be worse stages in the season for Liverpool to face these sides.

Even after all that they come up against a manager in Steve Bruce who has an inexplicably good record against Liverpool; his newly promoted Hull City side visiting Anfield at the end of September. From mid-October's home clash against Manchester United, after that the Reds should be looking to kick on in the league and put together a decent run of form. Seven out of the next nine encounters from then on are against sides that either finished in the bottom half or are newly promoted before a tricky festive period against Everton, Stoke City then Manchester City. 

Their run-in is a little kinder. Their most difficult looking game on paper is the Merseyside derby at Anfield at the start of April in the final two months of the season.

Adam Lallana celebrates with Dejan Lovren after scoring the third goal for Liverpool

The difficult runs have winnable games for the Reds, but there are runs of fixtures in there that should be seen as opportunities for Liverpool to put together a good run of form, and instill some confidence in them ahead of the more difficult fixtures. 

There is the cliche that everyone plays everybody twice, but momentum is important in any football season, and there are opportunities for the Reds to generate that.

Saturday 13th August 3:00pm
Arsenal v Liverpool
Emirates Stadium

Saturday 20th August 3:00pm
Liverpool v Burnley
Anfield

Saturday 27th August 3:00pm
Tottenham v Liverpool
White Hart Lane

Saturday 10th September 3:00pm
Liverpool v Leicester
Anfield

Saturday 17th September 3:00pm
Chelsea v Liverpool
Stamford Bridge

Saturday 24th September 3:00pm
Liverpool v Hull
Anfield

Saturday 1st October 3:00pm
Swansea v Liverpool
Liberty Stadium

Saturday 15th October 3:00pm
Liverpool v Man Utd
Anfield

Saturday 22nd October 3:00pm
Liverpool v West Brom
Anfield

Saturday 29th October 3:00pm
C. Palace v Liverpool
Selhurst Park

Saturday 5th November 3:00pm
Liverpool v Watford
Anfield

Saturday 19th November 3:00pm
Southampton v Liverpool
St. Mary's Stadium

Saturday 26th November 3:00pm
Liverpool v Sunderland
Anfield

Saturday 3rd December 3:00pm
Bournemouth v Liverpool
Vitality Stadium

Saturday 10th December 3:00pm
Liverpool v West Ham
Anfield

Tuesday 13th December 7:45pm
Middlesbrough v Liverpool
Riverside Stadium

Saturday 17th December 3:00pm
Everton v Liverpool
Goodison Park

Monday 26th December 3:00pm
Liverpool v Stoke
Anfield

Saturday 31st December 3:00pm
Liverpool v Man City
Anfield

Monday 2nd January 3:00pm
Sunderland v Liverpool
Stadium of Light

Saturday 14th January 3:00pm
Man Utd v Liverpool
Old Trafford

Saturday 21st January 3:00pm
Liverpool v Swansea
Anfield

Wednesday 1st February 8:00pm
Liverpool v Chelsea
Anfield

Saturday 4th February 3:00pm
Hull v Liverpool
The KC Stadium

Saturday 11th February 3:00pm
Liverpool v Tottenham
Anfield

Saturday 25th February 3:00pm
Leicester v Liverpool
King Power Stadium

Saturday 4th March 3:00pm
Liverpool v Arsenal
Anfield

Saturday 11th March 3:00pm
Burnley v Liverpool
Turf Moor

Saturday 18th March 3:00pm
Man City v Liverpool
Etihad Stadium

Saturday 1st April 3:00pm
Liverpool v Everton
Anfield

Wednesday 5th April 8:00pm
Liverpool v Bournemouth
Anfield

Saturday 8th April 3:00pm
Stoke v Liverpool
Britannia Stadium

Saturday 15th April 3:00pm
West Brom v Liverpool
The Hawthorns

Saturday 22nd April 3:00pm
Liverpool v C. Palace
Anfield

Saturday 29th April 3:00pm
Watford v Liverpool
Vicarage Road

Saturday 6th May 3:00pm
Liverpool v Southampton
Anfield

Saturday 13th May 3:00pm
West Ham v Liverpool
Olympic Stadium

Sunday 21st May 3:00pm
Liverpool v Middlesbrough
Anfield

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch