Confirmed Hull v Sheffield Wednesday lineups - Hutchinson returns, Lopez on the bench

Hull City KC Stadium at night

Here is how Hull City and Sheffield Wednesday will line up for the Championship play-off final.

Hull City meet Sheffield Wednesday in the Championship play-off final this afternoon, with a Premier League place up for grabs.

The Tigers enter the game having beaten Derby County in the semi-finals, in a topsy-turvy tie which saw Hull win the first leg 3-0 and lose the second leg 2-0.

Steve Bruce's men edged through in the end, and the Hull boss has kept the same side which lost the second leg against Derby.

That means that goalkeeper Allan McGregor misses out through injury again with Eldin Jakupovic taking his place between the sticks.

Abel Hernandez will therefore start up front, with Mohamed Diame in behind - and the likes of Shaun Maloney, Chuba Akpom and Sam Clucas are all on the bench for the Tigers.

Meanwhile, Wednesday saw off play-off favourites Brighton over two legs, beating them 2-0 at Hillsborough and then earning a 1-1 draw away from home in the second leg.

After two impressive performances, Wednesday fans will now have some confidence that they can return to the Premier League for the first time since their relegation in 2000.

Today, manager Carlos Carvalhal has handed a surprise start to midfielder Sam Hutchinson, as he has come in for Alex Lopez.

Gary Hooper will continue up front with Fernando Forestieri roaming behind, whilst players like Lucas Joao and Atdhe Nuhiu will offer attacking options from the bench.

Hull lineup


  • Eldin Jakupovic
  • Curtis Davies
  • Michael Dawson
  • Andrew Robertson
  • Mohamed Diamé
  • Ahmed Elmohamady
  • Tom Huddlestone
  • Jake Livermore
  • Moses Odubajo
  • Robert Snodgrass
  • Abel Hernández

Substitutes: Dusan Kuciak, Alex Bruce, Harry Maguire, Sam Clucas, Shaun Maloney, David Meyler, Chuba Akpom.

Sheff Wed lineup


  • Keiren Westwood
  • Jack Hunt
  • Sam Hutchinson
  • Tom Lees
  • Glenn Loovens
  • Daniel Pudil
  • Barry Bannan
  • Kieran Lee
  • Ross Wallace
  • Fernando Forestieri
  • Gary Hooper

Substitutes: Joe Wildsmith, Vincent Sasso, Jeremy Helan, Álex López, Lucas João, Marco Matias, Atdhe Nuhiu.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch