Alan Smith names his Premier League Team of the Season

Stars from Arsenal, Leicester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United make the cut.

Former Arsenal striker Alan Smith has named his Premier League Team of the Year for the Telegraph.

With the season now over, focus can turn to analysing what was a fascinating year for the Premier League.

Leicester City finished as champions, Arsenal somehow finished second ahead of Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester City kept Manchester United out of the Champions League (barring a record victory for the latter against Bournemouth later this week).

At the other end, Aston Villa and Newcastle United were relegated, while Sunderland survived at their expense.

The players were equally surprising with Jamie Vardy’s goal-scoring exploits and Dimitri Payet's displays at West Ham among two of the more notable ones.

So who does Alan Smith name in his Telegraph Team of the Year? Well, there are very few surprises.

In goal it is Manchester United ‘keeper David de Gea, who has shone again despite his side’s poor season.

Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin is in at right-back, with Tottenham’s Danny Rose at left-back, while Toby Alderweireld and Leicester captain West Morgan are the centre-backs.

In midfield, N’Golo Kante partners breakout star Dele Alli, with Riyad Mahrez on one wing and West Ham’s Payet on the other.

Up front, it is Harry Kane and Vardy, in what could be England’s front-line at Euro 2016 this summer.

And for manager of the year, there were no surprises either as Claudio Ranieri is Smith’s pick in a season that has seen him prove everybody wrong. 

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch