Confirmed Liverpool v Watford lineups: Benteke starts, Sturridge on the bench

Here is how Liverpool and Watford will line up this evening...

Liverpool are back in Premier League action this afternoon as they host Watford at Anfield after more Europa League success on Thursday.

The Reds beat Villarreal 3-0 on Thursday evening to advance into the Europa League final, as Jurgen Klopp continues to show signs of building an impressive Liverpool side.

Klopp has though chosen to rotate his team this afternoon, as Lucas Leiva will partner Martin Skrtel start at centre back, whilst Jon Flanagan is handed the right back role.

Youngsters Kevin Stewart, Jordon Ibe and Sheyi Ojo are all given chances to impress, whilst Christian Benteke starts up front, with Daniel Sturridge left on the bench.

Klopp has named the likes of Roberto Firmino and Kolo Toure on the bench, along with youngsters like Connor Randall, Cameron Brannagan and Pedro Chirivella.

Meanwhile, Watford are looking to build on last week's 3-2 win over Aston Villa by picking up points at Anfield today.

Manager Quique Sanchez Flores is under pressure despite keeping the Hornets in the Premier League, and he needs a strong end to the season to try and keep his job.

Today, the Spaniard has made just one change as Sebastian Prodl comes in for Juan Carlos Paredes in defence.

That means that the likes of Craig Cathcart, Miguel Britos and Ben Watson start, along with striking pair Odion Ighalo and Troy Deeney.

Nathan Ake, Steven Berghuis and Nordin Amrabat are all on the bench for Watford, who have little to play for right now.

Liverpool lineup


  • Simon Mignolet
  • Jon Flanagan
  • Alberto Moreno
  • Martin Skrtel
  • Kevin Stewart
  • Joe Allen
  • Philippe Coutinho
  • Jordon Ibe
  • Lucas Leiva
  • Sheyi Ojo
  • Christian Benteke

Substitutes: Adam Bogdan, Kolo Touré, Connor Randall, Cameron Brannagan, Pedro Chirivella, Roberto Firmino, Daniel Sturridge.

Watford lineup


  • Heurelho Gomes
  • Miguel Britos
  • Craig Cathcart
  • Sebastian Prödl
  • Almen Abdi
  • Ikechi Anya
  • Jurado
  • Mario Suárez
  • Ben Watson
  • Troy Deeney
  • Odion Ighalo

Substitutes: Costel Pantilimon, Nathan Aké, Nyom, Juan Carlos Paredes, Nordin Amrabat, Adlène Guédioura, Steven Berghuis.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch