Carragher names his Team of the Season - Four Spurs stars, one Liverpool player included

Manchester United, Liverpool, Leicester City, Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United players feature.

Liverpool legend Jamie Carragher has picked as many as four Tottenham Hotspur players in his Premier League Team of the Season for The Daily Mail.

Central defender Toby Alderweireld, left-back Danny Rose, midfielder Dele Alli and striker Harry Kane are all part of the former Liverpool defender’s team.

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea is also recognised by Carragher for his saves throughout the season.

Leicester City’s Wes Morgan, N'Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy also make the team, and so do Liverpool right-back Nathaniel Clyne and West Ham United attacking Dimitri Payet.

Jamie Carragher’s Premier League Team of the Season: David de Gea (Manchester United); Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Danny Rose (Tottenham); Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Dele Alli (Tottenham), N'Golo Kante (Leicester), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester); Harry Kane (Tottenham), Jamie Vardy (Leicester).

It is hard to disagree with Carragher’s choices, although many will suggest that Clyne should not be in the team.

Arsenal right-back Hector Bellerin has been superb this campaign and was part of the PFA Premier League Team of the Season.

The 21-year-old Spaniard has established himself as one of the best right-backs in the Premier League.

Many Leicester fans will suggest that Danny Simpson should be ahead of Clyne in the team because of his truly brilliant performances for the Foxes this campaign.

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for LIVERPOOL team updates

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch