Jermaine Jenas names his alternative Premier League Team of the Year

Stars from Tottenham Hotspur, Leicester City, Manchester City, Manchester United and Stoke City make the cut.

Jermaine Jenas has named his alternative Premier League Team of the Year, for Yahoo Sports.

This week saw Riyad Mahrez named the PFA Player of the Year after a scintillating season with league leaders Leicester City.

The Foxes were similarly dominant in the Team of the Year as their stars, alongside second-placed Tottenham Hotspur, dominated the line up.

Instead of naming a similar team, Jenas has opted to pick an alternative XI, although some Spurs and Foxes stars still make it regardless in his team for Yahoo

Starting in goal, Jenas opts for Tottenham Hotspur goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, who has been key in his side’s strong season.

At centre-back are Manchester United’s Daley Blind and Southampton’s Virgil van Dijk, while West Ham United’s Aaron Cresswell and Danny Simpson of Leicester fill the full-back spots.

In a three-man midfield, Hammers captain Mark Noble makes the cut, as well as Spurs midfielder Mousa Dembele, while Danny Drinkwater is also in.

Up front, Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne occupies the right wing and is partnered by Stoke City man Marko Arnautovic on the left, in an attack full of creative force. 

Up front is Sergio Aguero, who many believe was unfortunate to not be in the official line-up after his performances this season. 

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch