Ray Wilkins names his Premier League Team of the Year

Stars from Leicester City, Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal and Manchester United make the cut.

Ray Wilkins has named his Premier League Team of the Year for BT Sport’s Fletch and Sav.

Unsurprisingly both Tottenham Hotspur and Leicester City stars dominate his team, with only two positions not filled by those two clubs.

One of those roles is in goal, as Wilkins selects David de Gea between the sticks after another impressive campaign from the Spaniard.

The other position is at right back, where Wilkins goes with Arsenal full back Hector Bellerin ahead of the likes of Danny Simpson or Kyle Walker.

At centre back it is a partnership of Toby Alderweireld and Roberto Huth, while Danny Rose occupies the left back slot.

In centre midfield it is N’Golo Kante and Eric Dier, while Dele Alli and Riyad Mahrez occupy the wings.

The selection of Dier is something of a surprise given it means the likes of Dimitri Payet and Mesut Ozil are left out of his line up.

Up front it is the Premier League’s top goalscorers Jamie Vardy and Harry Kane, who may very well find themselves together for England at Euro 2016 this summer.

FIFA World Cup 2018FIFA 2018 World Cup Russia - click here for all of our coverage...

Register for TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR team updates

Register for ARSENAL team updates

Register for MANCHESTER UNITED team updates

Register for HITC Sport - Daily Dispatch